We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jefferson Street Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Jefferson Street Inn to your Saves list
Jefferson Street Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Jefferson St., Wausau, WI 54403   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Wausau
Fennimore, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I was traveling for business to Wausau and stayed at Jefferson Street Inn. It was a great experience! The rooms are very nice and spacious with great beds!

On my second day, I returned to the room and found a note from the housekeeping staff that she had noticed my IPad cord was a bit worn (plastic broken off, etc.) so she pulled one out of lost and found. She sanitized it and left it for me! This was way above and beyond my expectations!

If you are in Wausau, please stay at the Jefferson Street Inn! It is a great place to stay when visiting that great city!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    116
    31
    12
    7
See reviews for
107
99
12
149
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

The JEFFERSON INN is the only place to stay in Wausau. Beautiful rooms, breakfast included, pool, gym, walking distance to downtown area and river-what more could you want?
The restaurant is very good as well. Lively bar scene at night.

Room Tip: King suites are extra nice and have a small kitchen area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McMinnville, Oregon
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The first and most important goal of a hotel should be to provide adequate sleeping conditions. This place books weddings that last late into the night, and permits the wedding party to play music loud enough to be heard from the fourth floor. The hotel's response to our request to ask the party to quiet down? "It will be over at midnight". So, if you are sure that you won't need to get to sleep before midnight, then enjoy the party!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaukauna, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We just got back from a great stay in Wausau this past weekend. My wife and I stayed at the Jefferson Inn in downtown Wausau. This is really a nice hotel, and the people there were very good at making us feel welcome. The rooms were very large and very clean. The prices were even better. The Inn is right in the middle of the downtown River District. We just parked the car and could walk to anyplace we wanted to go.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jsi-6500, General Manager at Jefferson Street Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay! Look forward to you returning. Thank you! Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a birthday getaway and much needed respite from every day work/life. My dog and I loved the room, the friendly staff and the location. The luxury room was clean and spacious, the "kitchenette" had a mini bar and even a few plates, glassware. The whirlpool tub was absolutely wonderful, and the bed was super comfy. Location was close to the center of town and the river. I didn't take advantage of the free breakfast because I had my dog with me, but ordered room service from the City Grill and it was fantastic...one of the best room service meals I've ever had...and fast. I will review the restaurant separately. For what I paid, through the hotel website, I thought it was a GREAT value. Will go back, maybe on a weekend with more going on in town....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baileys Harbor, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Jefferson Street Inn to 'get away' and celebrate my 50th birthday the last weekend of May. The room was very clean, very comfortable and had a great view of the park in front of the Grand Theater. Any of the staff we came across were very friendly and most accommodating. We enjoyed the restaurant and bar several times throughout our stay with great food, wonderful drinks and very friendly staff. This hotel is a great choice to stop for an evening or to spend a long weekend. We will certainly return!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jsi-6500, General Manager at Jefferson Street Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! We look forward to having you stay with us again! Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Superior
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Very nicely appointed, comfortably modern rooms with great in-room amenities, such as mini fridge and microwave. I stayed in a large king room on the fourth floor with a quaint electric fireplace and two cushy comfy chairs perfect to curl up with a book in. The room overlooked the quaint main street and park square. Downtown Wausau was a very pleasant surprise with boutique shops, charming restaurants, and a small mall (60 shops) anchoring the end of main street. Enjoyed a lovely warm early summer evening strolling and window shopping before settling on a wonderful dinner at Lucci's About When restaurante. Would love to return for a leisurely weekend!

Only disappointment was despite being told breakfast was 06-1000 and having an 0630 meeting to be at, we discovered that breakfast did not open in the City Grill until 0630. We made do with the apples and oranges from the fruit bowl on the front desk. Fortunate to have them to tide us over!

Room Tip: 454 is a large room with king bed, electric fireplace, fridge, microwave overlooking mainstreet and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jefferson Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jefferson Street Inn

Address: 201 Jefferson St., Wausau, WI 54403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wausau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Wausau
#2 Family Hotel in Wausau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jefferson Street Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Why Settle For Just Any Hotel? The Jefferson Street Inn is downtown Wausau's full service, luxury hotel featuring 100 suites and executive guest rooms. Pamper yourself in our warm, inviting surroundings. Unwind in your personal whirlpool bath, then slip into one of our cozy robes and relax on our pillow-top beds by the fireplace in your suite. Jefferson Street Inn is located in the heart of downtown Wausau, adjacent to the historic Washington Square shopping center. Jefferson Street Inn is a full service luxury hotel that offers sophisticated accommodations and suites, resort amenities, and impeccable customer service. At Jefferson Street Inn, you’ll enjoy a vacation in close proximity to Wisconsin attractions and activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Jefferson Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jefferson Street Hotel Wausau
Jefferson Street Wausau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jefferson Street Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.