We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lobster Mac & Cheese” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Townie's Grill

Townie's Grill
412 3rd St, Wausau, WI 54403
(715) 819-3663
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 133 Restaurants in Wausau
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Marathon, WI
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Lobster Mac & Cheese”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This was my first time at Townie's Grill!! I had been to Malarkey's before but I hadn't made it back since the Grill opened. I had a lot of people recommend the Lobster Mac & Cheese and I had read a great article about Townie's in the City Pages referring to the unique treat. There was no doubt what my order was going to be :) The Lobster Mac & cheese was yummy! Something different - something I would never make at home and very good. Others in our group enjoyed the fish tacos very much, and the burgers as well. I will definitely recommend Townie's Grill to my friends and family! Keep up the good work!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    16
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wausau, WI
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Decent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Came here with a group of 10. Service was fast, but had a small menu. I had a burger, but it was nothing special. Atmosphere was okay - mostly dark as we were seated in the back by the kitchen. Connected to a bar - Malarkey's, which I understand is run by the same owner. Maybe I'll try this place again in a smaller group.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Brunch bloody mary was brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here for Sunday brunch unexpectedly and it was great. Really good service, bloody mary was out of this world, we both did BYOB (build your own breakfast) which was very good.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“snowy day lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

It was time for a networking lunch on a snowy day when all of us were wondering what would be open. Townie's did not disappoint! I couldn't decide between their Guiness chili--nice and thick, plenty of beans and meat, no noodles or extra veggies--and the BLT sandwich, so I had the sandwich with a cup of chili as my side. Excellent choice! My companion had a pulled pork sandwich with both garlicky and hot dipping sauces. We won't get into how messy he got, but he loved that, and put the leftover sauce on his waffle fries. The service was attentive, just the right level, and with a noon arrival we were still easily able to get to our 1:00 meetings.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great sandwiches and salads”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I had a portobella mushroom sandwich and it was wonderful. Menu is interesting sandwices and salads. Nice publike atmosphere in downtown Wausau.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Townie's Grill also viewed

 

Been to Townie's Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Townie's Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.