We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Nice” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Wausau

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Wausau to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Wausau
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   615 South 24th Avenue, Wausau, WI 54401   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Wausau
Jefferson City, MO
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Pretty Nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2009

Stayed here for an overnight trip. Clean, friendly, great breakfast. Easy to find, right off the interstate.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    58
    14
    5
    2
See reviews for
88
43
17
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St. Paul, MN
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

Road construction is still an issue, but that is not something Hampton can change : ) and it's only temporary. For the summer of 2009 it might be worth checking directions with the hotel before you go there. Our stay was perfect. We liked the way the rooms have been redecorated, the beds were comfortable, breakfast fine, hotel staff pleasant and accommodating and we felt the rate was very reasonable.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, WI
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2009

Had a nice stay here. Everything was clean and orderly. However, difficult to get to if no somewhat familiar with area, as had road construction at approaching intersection. The breakfast was very good. Everything orderly and well stocked. Really liked the coffe available 24/7 in lobby.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for two nights to attend a wedding in the area. I was pleasantly surpised with the rooms. Very spacious and the bathroom was really nice as well. There were some drawbacks..they do have a mini-fridge but no microwave and they do not even have a DVD player in the room. That would have been nice to have.
There is not alot of storage. You get 3 small drawers and a closet with some hangers. So you will live out of your suitcase if you are staying longer then a weekend.

The breakfast was really nice in the morning. Alot of fresh fruit and warm meals.

We unfortunately were staying while a Basketball tournament was going on. So, it was loud and the parents from the BB teams took all the fruit and put it in thier coolers, so unless you got there earlier then them...you were out of luck. The parents also were having a little mini-party in the lounge....being loud and drinking at night. My family from around the US were all staying here and we booked well in advance to make sure that we were all on the same floor..they put most of us on the 3rd floor and my mom was on the 1st, thier explanation was that they had overbooked and the BB teams won over the wedding party on staying together on the same floor.

I gave a good rating due to the fact that there will not always be a BB tournament and maybe the next time it will be quieter. I am giveing them the benefit of the doubt.

It was still a nice stay ...for 2 nights.

You are very close to the Interstate and other major attractions. Good location.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Michigan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2009

I stayed here 8 weeks in the fall of 2008. It is a nice hotel overall. It is close to the interstate but you have to wind around coming from the North to get there. The rooms have refrigerators but no microwaves which is a major drawback. The rooms have almost no storage space so you wind up living out of your suitcase. The staff is friendly especially Jen and Mary in the morning at breakfast. The free breakfast is awesome! The cleaning staff is so-so. The pool is nice and the business center is very convenient. The rate is pretty high ($85 corp rate) for the area so unless the client is paying it may be better to stay at a cheaper place.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, MN
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Hampton on our way to chicago for a wedding. It was a nice, clean hotel. We liked the breakfast, since they have seemed to add more hot food since the last time we stayed at Hampton. The hotel seemed somewhat expensive, but there might have been something going on in town, since fall in wisconsin can be a busy time of year. We would stay here again, although it might not be the first choice if we brought the kids.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presque Isle, Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2008

Convient, clean, newly redecorated room, good selection at breakfast buffet. One of the best Hampton's we've stayed at.

  • Liked — comfort & cleanliness
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Wausau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Wausau

Address: 615 South 24th Avenue, Wausau, WI 54401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wausau
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wausau
#2 Business Hotel in Wausau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Wausau 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn of Wausau is a 100% smoke-free hotel, placed right in the heart of Wisconsin. We are located near several restaurants and only 10 minutes from downtown. While staying with us you will received a complimentary hot breakfast each morning, access to our indoor pool and whirlpool, our 24 hour business center and our 24 hour fitness center. We provide friendly service, clean rooms and comfortable surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Wausau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Wausau Hotel Wausau
Wausau Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Wausau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.