We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hampton Inn” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Wausau

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Wausau to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Wausau
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   615 South 24th Avenue, Wausau, WI 54401   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Wausau
Michigan
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Average Hampton Inn”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This is an older property located right next to the Interstate in Wausau. The hotel physically is in good shape, furniture is clean and in good shape, and is very quiet given the location.

Staff... the staff was friendly and checkin and indifferent at checkout. Therefore the staff get a 3.

I'm a Hilton Gold on the cusp of a Diamond. None of my reservation requests were honored. I was on the 2nd floor, and not the 3rd (top floor). While the hotel isolates exterior noise well, you hear everything going on above you. I ask to be away from the elevator and ice machine, they put me right next to it. Oh, and the spectacular view (see photo). If this is how they treat regular Hilton customers, I'd certainly hate to be a Priceline or other blind purchase customer.

My final complaint is the breakfast area. It is super small. This hotel attracts a lot of families on the weekends. The breakfast area was a zoo, almost impossible to even navigate to get a cup of coffee it is so small and congested.

Nothing special to see here. There are better options in Wausau.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pa L, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Wausau, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear JRA3,
We apalogize for the inconvenience during your stay. Please feel free to call Pa at (715) 848-9700 to discuss further details. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    58
    14
    5
    2
See reviews for
88
43
17
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I stay here often. Rooms are very clean, beds are comfortable, and the breakfast is good. The only issue is the breakfast area is small - so if it is busy you have to take the food back to your room. Property well maintained and the staff is very friendly. Location is good - close to hwy 51.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pa L, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Wausau, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We will be looking for options in the future about expanding our breakfast area. We are glad you visit us often and will keep seeing you! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Minnesota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We booked 2 rooms in mid-March for a 2 family weekend ski getaway at Granite Peak. The rooms were average size but very clean and modern. As usual with Hilton Hotels, we were very pleased with the service/staff. We were greeted with treats when we checked in and our kids even got another round the next day. Hotel is close to restaurants and the ski hill. Pool area is pretty small but nice nonetheless, although was strong chlorine smell that hurt the eyes a bit. Nice workout room. Very good value!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nmoua, General Manager at Hampton Inn Wausau, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Bravotango
Thank you for your feedback! We are thrilled to hear that your stay with us was a pleasant experience. We look forward to seeing you again!

Nikki Moua
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I came here about a month ago for a family ski trip, and it was a great hotel! It is very close to downtown Wausau, the ski hills, and all of the restuarants!

Pros:
1. Great hotel for skiing or for any fun visit.
2. Great pool and hot tub. Unlike other hotels, the pool water never gets too cold.
3. All of the ski hills, popular restaurants including Buffalo Wild Wings, and the downtown area are all within a half mile of the hotel.
4. The exits to the highway are literally 10 seconds away from the hotel.
5. They have a great Breakfast selection that tastes really good.
6. My room, which was room #228 was very clean and had a big armour that we could put our clothes, snacks, and other stuff in!
7. Big TV's in the breakfast lounge area which is right when you walk in.
8. Staff are very nice.
9. Great Beds.
10. Clean bathrooms.
11. Hotel is very modernized
12. Very excellent value! You'll get a bargain if you stay here compared to other hotels!

Cons:
1. Not a whole lot of parking space. If you are taking your car out to ski or somewhere for a few hours, there's no guarntee you'll get a good parking spot.
2. Most rooms have only 1 king size bed. So if you are satying with a family/group of 5 or more, you may want to get 2 rooms.
3. No safe anywhere in the room.

Despite those 3 cons, I had a great stay and will try to stay here again if I ever come back to this area.

Room Tip: There are only 3 Floors, and each of them have rooms. So it's unpredictable of what floor you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pa L, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Wausau, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us with your family! Yes, our parking lot does get busy and apologize for any inconvienieces. As well, if you are looking for a safe in the future, please ask the front desk. There are safe deposit boxes located behind the front desk area that will be kept locked and you will receive the 2nd key to the 2 part lock. Tho, our boxes are about 2 feet long, 3 inches deep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Pere, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I booked this room for last night because a close family member was hospitalized nearby. After spending all day at the hospital, we realized the situation was more serious than we originally thought. When I explained the situation to the desk clerk and asked about room availability for tonight, the desk clerk said the hotel was booked, but a king room with whirlpool was available....at the normal price (read: not cheap). The room was clean, but the clientele across the hall decided to carry on high-volume conversations in the hall both night and morning. Oh, and after promising my four year old that if he was good at the hospital all day, he could swim in the pool this morning, we learned that the pool is closed because someone vomited. Sometimes you pay more to get more, but I am underwhelmed.
And for all the signage about environmental consciousness, I found the plethora of disposable breakfast ware somewhat ironic.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pa L, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Wausau, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
ladydoc2006,
We apologize for the inconvieniences during your stay. Please feel free to call Pa at (715) 848-9700 to discuss any issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Geneva
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We had a great first visit in Wausau and picked the Hampton Inn because of the good reviews on this site and the price point. We were overall very satisfied. We asked for a hotel on the quiet side of the building but the loud noises in the hotel didn't come from the highway, they came from teenagers going from room to room visiting with eachother. Perhaps they should have had all people from the bowling group on one wing of one floor so they wouldn't disturb other non-bowling groups. But the second night was quieter, so that was appreciated.
The breakfast is so-so, it's a free hotel breakfast after all. I really appreciated the fresh cut fruit, that made it a good breakfast for me.
Room was very clean, modern and comfortable. Bed was very comfortable.
We'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask to be kept away from large groups of people staying in multiple rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pa L, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Wausau, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We apalogize for any noise disturbance you have experienced during your stay. We are happy that you enjoyed our breakfast selection and our rooms. We will see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Garden, FL
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Our visit to this Hampton Inn was special! From beginning to end the staff was delightful! Our Room # 128 was immaculate with all the furniture and appliances one could want. The breakfast was excellent, the candy container at the front desk stayed full, and there was a steady supply of chips & salsa in the lobby/breakfast area which we thought would diminish or end with the football weekend but continued during our stay. The decor in the lobby/breakfast area was very pleasing to the eye and to the heart. Too much? I don't know, but it really made you feel good to be there! The lobby was decorated very nicely for the Autumn/Halloween season. There was a "rubber ducky" in our bathroom, so we asked the asked the lady at the front desk about it, and she responded by pulling out a box of them and saying we could help ourselves. We did, and I now have a "lifeguard duck" and a "chef duck" looking at me from beneath my monitor, which is a reminder of my swimming and cooking capabilities, not to mention this wonderful Happy Hampton Inn! This Hampton Inn was very close to all the sites from the Wausau of my youth, and I highly recommend this Hampton Inn to you!!!

Room Tip: Our reservation asked for a ground floor room near the breakfast area, and we were assigned to Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pa L, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Wausau, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
We are so glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and happy that you have experienced great service with your stay! Thank you for recommending the Hampton Inn! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Wausau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Wausau

Address: 615 South 24th Avenue, Wausau, WI 54401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wausau
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wausau
#2 Business Hotel in Wausau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Wausau 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn of Wausau is a 100% smoke-free hotel, placed right in the heart of Wisconsin. We are located near several restaurants and only 10 minutes from downtown. While staying with us you will received a complimentary hot breakfast each morning, access to our indoor pool and whirlpool, our 24 hour business center and our 24 hour fitness center. We provide friendly service, clean rooms and comfortable surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Wausau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Wausau Hotel Wausau
Wausau Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Wausau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.