We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Wausau

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Wausau
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   615 South 24th Avenue, Wausau, WI 54401   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in Wausau
Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Clean, comfortable and quiet room. Continental breakfast was very good. The pool was nice with a toybox full of pool toys for the kids, although there seemed to be too much chlorine in the water. Overall a very nice hotel convenient to Granite Peak ski area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pa L, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Wausau, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
We do apalogize about the pool area but am glad to hear you have enjoyed your stay and the accomadations we had to offer. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    41
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
61
31
9
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oakdale, Minnesota, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

My family were there for a short stay, but certainly enjoyed our time there. It was during the busy ski season, but we were just there to spend the night. We used the pool and had the breakfast. I used the fitness center, too. I always love the complimentary coffee at all hours and the kids even had some hot chocolate! I would have gave it an excellent rating if they didn't have hardwood floors in the lobby and elevator, which doesn't work too well with the combination of pool traffic and snowy winters. I was also somewhat disappointed that the stairway wasn't close to the elevator since the hotel was busy. Despite these minor problems, it is a great place to stay and I would recommend it to anyone. Hampton Inns are awesome!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pa L, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Wausau, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for all your feedback. Yes it gets very busy here around this time of year, even tho with all that was going on in the hotel, we are glad that you have enjoyed your stay. We do hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slinger, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is an Excellent hotel--Beds were very comfortable, room was very clean, furnishings were stylish and new. We were looking for a reasonable place close to the Granite Peak ski area. I was pleasantly surprised to find this hotel was so nice because the prices were very reasonable plus it came with a nice free breakfast which is great when you are traveling with kids--nothing over the top but plenty to fill you up--two hot items, plus waffles, cereals, fruit, yogurt, etc. The only minor negative flaw is a lack of seating near the breakfast area. It had a convenient location just a few miles from the ski area and lots of choices for eating and shopping nearby as well too. This will definitely be my hotel for future trips to Wausau.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pa L, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Wausau, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your feedback! Glad to hear that you will be visiting us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Michigan
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed here for two nights with HiltonHonors points and experienced wonderful service. My husband was having surgery at the Wausau Hospital and the staff was kind and accommodating. The room was nice and clean, and had a nice table. The only drawback was the room was very dry. This was our second stay at this property. The breakfast is very good, and they have coffee and water station and chips and salsa in the evenings.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pa L, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Wausau, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for your honesty. Your honesty will help provide Hampton Inn in Wausau to find solutions to issues and drawbacks. We are glad you have enjoyed your stay and everything went well with your husbands surgery. We hope to see you again, under different circumstances besides visisting the hospital, and have you enjoy your time in Wausau!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazelhurst
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Front Desk Staff was Excellent..... Very helpful and pleasant....Very near Marshfield Clinic and Aspirus Wausaw Hospital as well as many fine Restaurant....Close to entrance to Highway 51.. and not to far from Downtown Wausaw shopping... I have alway's found the Hampton Inn Chain to be very constant with their standards... If you do alot of traveling You might want to join the Hiliton Honors ... It makes Check-in, and making Reservation Quite Easy....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nmoua, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Wausau, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
We are very glad you have enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to see you again soon visiting the Wausau area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhorn, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

My family of 4 really enjoyed our recent stay just before New Years. We made a reservation later than we should have and could only book a king and pull-out, but the staff later worked to accommodate us with 2 queens. The room was clean and there was a great selection for a hot breakfast before we hit the hills. Granite peak was only a 5 min. drive. Overall, it was a great stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pa L, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Wausau, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to accomodate your stay! We are also glad they you were able to enjoy Granite Peak. We hope to see you soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

My sister and I stayed at the Hampton in Wausau in October 2012. As soon as we walked into the lobby, it appeared as if you were walking into someone's living room. The staff here had decorated the lobby for Halloween and it was obvious the care they had taken in doing so. It was very tastefully done.

In addition, cookies were at the front desk to greet you along with a very pleasant host to check you in. Also in the lobby, there was water with fresh lemons in a carafe, tortilla chips and salsa and multiple varieties of fresh coffee all day long. They had games laid out the lobby (chess for one), which I appreciated as well. This is not a hotel that was going to nickel-and-dime its guests to death and something that I, as a frequent traveler, so appreciate. Hospitality abounds here.

The rooms were very clean and the bathrooms, although small, had been remodeled. The bed was extremely comfortable with plenty of pillows. In addition, I always appreciate when there are extra blankets in the closet, which there were here, 1 for each bed.

There are not a lot of drawers, but for guests staying 1 or 2 nights, I felt it was fine because there is a fairly decent size closet to make up for the lack of drawer space.

The have a pool, hot tub, and workout room which I did not use.

A hot breakfast was included in the price of the room. Sorry I don't have time to review the breakfast, must check out of hotel now.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pa L, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Wausau, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you giving us a great review during your stay! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and felt comfortable. We do hope to see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Wausau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Wausau

Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Wausau Hotel
Hampton Inn Wausau Hotel Wausau
Wausau Hampton Inn
Address: 615 South 24th Avenue, Wausau, WI 54401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wausau
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wausau
#2 Business Hotel in Wausau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Wausau 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn of Wausau is a 100% smoke-free hotel, placed right in the heart of Wisconsin. We are located near several restaurants and only 10 minutes from downtown. While staying with us you will received a complimentary hot breakfast each morning, access to our indoor pool and whirlpool, our 24 hour business center and our 24 hour fitness center. We provide friendly service, clean rooms and comfortable surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Wausau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Wausau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Wausau to your Saves list