We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diner food at its best.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mint Cafe

Mint Cafe
422 North 3rd Street, Wausau, WI
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 133 Restaurants in Wausau
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Description: http://maps.google.com/maps?rlz=1T4ACAW_enUS309US310&um=1&ie=UTF-8&cid=0,0,16851179193941773582&fb=1&hq=mint+cafe&hnear=wausau&gl=us&daddr=422+North+3rd+Street,+Wausau,+WI+54403-5412&geocode=990804199256340369,44.960089,-89.627901&ei=HtuyS_zHNImqNs-ihIwE&sa=X&oi=local_result&ct=directions-to&resnum=1&ved=0CAkQngIwAA
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Diner food at its best.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We happened on this restaurant while looking around a renovated area of Wausau. Stopping for lunch, we found the place impeccably clean, the food homey and good, the portions generous nd he pricing fair. Even the coffee was good. You can't go wrong dining here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    16
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“EXCELENT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I have eaten at the Mint on many occasions and they never cease to satisfy. The atmosphere is clean, quaint and classy. The food is always fresh and cooked to perfection. One of my favorite spots in Wausau.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delightful diner meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

The Mint Cafe is a classic diner restaurant. Our family was happy with the friendly service and the food. The food is classic diner, but done very well. We stopped in just after the lunch rush, so we had no problem with seating or wait time. This is in downtown Wausau, so parking is normal for a city.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“LOVE THE MINT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I have been going to the Mint Restaurant since I was about 3 years old-and I am 60 now! They have remodeled several times since then though, but have been around since the 1800's.
If you are lucky enough to go for breakfast/brunch-don't miss the potato pancakes. Lunch? the patty melt.
Anything you choose will be delicious.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Local favorite for basic home-cooked meals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Lots of business here, mostly locals. Good specials and home-made meals available for eat in or take out. Small quarters, parking can be a problem.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mint Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Mint Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mint Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.