We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE DUMP” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Plaza Hotel and Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Plaza Hotel and Suites to your Saves list
Plaza Hotel and Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   201 N. 17th Ave., Wausau, WI 54401 (Formerly the Ramada Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Wausau
Green Bay, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
“THE DUMP”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

This is the most horrible place i have ever stayed. The room keys didn't work, the toilet didn't flush.The hot tub didn't work properly. the fridge didn't get cold. The staff was a joke, the building manager had recieved a owi in the parking lot while we were outside which explains why nothing worked proper. The door to our room didn't ever need the pass, all you had to do it push it hard and it opened..not safe at all. The place really is dumpy and has seen better days. I can't even think of one positive thing to say about the place. BAD, BAD ...BAD.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    8
    15
    19
    31
See reviews for
25
10
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We were on our honeymoon and didn't plan it so we stopped at a couple hotels to see prices. The girl at the front desk was very willing to help with what we could afford. She was very friendly and answered all of our tourist questions. The night shift lady was very helpful too!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparta, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

During check in this last weekend I should have known that our stay would be horrible. The clerk was sick and to make it even better she decided it was in her best interest to answer a phone call and talk to the other clerk. Our room keys would not work, even had another guest stop to try to help us. Went back to the desk and was given new keys. Then our room was like a sauna the entire weekend. It did not matter what we did to the thermostat, it was horrible. We were there for a conference and banquet dinner. The wait staff was horrible, trying to clear table with people still trying to eat and trying to take their glasses away from them. When I told them politely that I was still drinking my water, I was told that they needed to clear all of the glasses right away. Since when does what the customer want not happen. There was apparently someone that got sick in the hallway in several places and no one around cleaning it up. To end our stay we had put the "Do Not Distrub" sign on the door while we were finishing packing. My boyfriend went to the move our vechile closer to the door and while he was gone, me stilling getting dressed, I get knocking on the door followed by "Housekeeping Housekeeping". I did not have the door bolted so that he could return and felt very vunerable. Since when does "Do Not Distrub" mean that it is ok for them to try to clean the room?? The breakfast that we were told would be out until 11am on Saturday and Sunday was gone by 10:15am. And the last straw was when we went to check out. I had filled out the comments card and we turned it in at check out. All we got from the MANAGER was "oh sorry about that" no please let me offfer you anything or even being looked in the eye for the apology. Almost forgot we also could not get connected to the internet, my boyfriend works in IT, was given a number to call for help, which did no good.
Overall, I would never recommend this place to anyone, even my worst enemy. It is that bad.

Room Tip: Don't think that they have any good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevens Point
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

This hotel was formely a Holiday Inn, and quite glorious in its day. Knowing this, I was rather excited to have the opportunity to participate in a local event that was recently held there. Our room was a suite. The room was well kept, good looking, and decently stocked. The bed and pillows were VERY comfortable. The room was rather on the stuffy side, however, as it seemed there was little ventilation to the room. The bathroom was closet sized. The pool area, recreation area, and lounge were gorgeous and well cared for. The hotel staff were for the most part polite, and VERY friendly; except for one employee who seemed to just be a little overwhelmed by the shear size of the event. Now the bad stuff :-(... The hotels main hallways were unkept, and were littered with small debris. In the 2 days of our event, not a single hotel staff vacuumed any portion of the atrium or main hallways; so the dirt and debris began compounding and looked very unappealing. This hotel is very cold in the evening and at night in common areas of the hotel because the heat is turned way down. 2 out of 4 of the soda machines on the premises worked. The continental breakfast was above average from most hotels; this breakfast included specialty items and pastries on top of the usual toast, eggs, cereal, milk, and juice. The pastries were fresh and delicious. The hotel has complimentary coffee in the lobby 24/7, and that to was not only helpful, but fresh and delicious. This hotel also has a restaurant located within it... The waitstaff and service had no ambition, and were rather slow and careless. The food was average, and the price was maybe a $1 or $2 higher than what you would except to pay in that area of town. This hotel has skylights in every hallway and common area of the hotel. Although the skylights are an excellent touch for an event, most of them leaked water. Leaking water is a big issue for vendors who are concerned for the well being of their merchandise. Based on my observations, I would NOT recoomend this hotel for large events. It is perfect for a small event with less than 150 tables. As far as staying here as a guest, although the hallways were dirty, the rooms were clean; and that for the price of the room as opposed to the services that were offered by the hotel, I feel that I came out ahead and that the price of the room was rather reasonable.

Room Tip: I did notice the entry doors in this hotel slam very loud at all hours of the night, it might be bes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cave Springs, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

I was worried about staying here after reading the other reviews. However, our trip was with a big group of family and our reservations were booked by another family member so we didn't really have a choice. We decided we'd give it a try regardless of the other negative reviews. FIRST, I'll point out the good things about the hotel. The pool area was clean and the kids had a great time swimming in the kiddie pool. The room was clean and the carpet and tile appeared to be fairly new. There was no odor of cigarette smoke in the interior of the hotel. The coffee at breakfast was fresh and hot. The hotel was not crowded or loud. OK, now the negative part. Overall, the entire hotel smells like chlorine inside. Maybe that's why there's no cigarette smell? The interior is drab and the lights are very dim. NONE of our door keys worked for either the individual rooms or the exterior entrances. ANNOYING! At times we would swipe our cards 20 to 30 times before the door would open. When we initially went to unlock our rooms the keys flat out refused to work so a teenage employee came to "help" us. He must have had a nasty cold because he sniffled and snotted, wiped his nose with his hand and proceeded to swipe our key and pull on the handle. Gross! The breakfast offered toast, cereal, oatmeal, old donuts, juice, milk and coffee. Good coffee. As far as the rooms go, the bed was not comfortable, the ceilings were low and the television was old and had a bad picture. The staff appeared to be mostly teenaged to early twenty kids with the exception of a few older (friendly) housekeepers and a few "cooks" running around in white coats (who thankfully appeared to open the exterior doors for us several times). Overall, the staff was rude and short with us. They would walk through the pool area telling us basically to "get out" when it was closing time and then shut the lights off in the common seating area when they wanted us out of there too. The only exception was the friendly lady at the front desk on the morning we checked out. My advice? Choose a newer, friendlier hotel with a better breakfast for the same price.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

The stay was horrible and it was only one night!!! The front desk talked up a story about the breakfast and all they had was old, dry eggs and donuts and juice. The place was disgusting! There was dirt all over the floors in the main hallways, the fridgerator not working, there were old towels still in there, the top lock on the door was broken, and it was a sauna in the hotel in the middle of SUMMER!!! To top it off, my daughter, I, and my boyfriend all got bit by some kind of insects and woke up with bites all over!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservices79, Manager at Plaza Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, June 29, 2011
Dear Guests,

The stay this guest had is not what we at the Plaza Wausau offer to our guest. We are sorry the guest did not enjoy their stay with us. We have checked into the problems they say they had with us and adjusted their stay for the broken door lock. Our hotel has never had a problem with
insects, we have a regular pest control service each month. On weekends when the guest stayed we do not offer eggs. The room refrigerators are turned off when the rooms is not rented, to save energy, they are easily turned on at checkin. We feel everything the guest had a problem with was taken care of in a timely manor and our hotel will always strive to make each guest enjoy their stay with us.

Robert
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine River Wisconsin USA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

We found all the help courteous and willing to go out of their way to make us feel comforable. Especially Kelly. I think the Plaza wouldn't be the Plaza without Kelly. The rooms were clean and comfortable. We have stayed there for several class reunions and will continue to stay there in years to come. thank you.

Room Tip: We really did like the view in the tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Plaza Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Hotel and Suites

Address: 201 N. 17th Ave., Wausau, WI 54401 (Formerly the Ramada Inn)
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wausau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Wausau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Plaza Hotel and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Plaza Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Wausau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plaza Hotel and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.