We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite restaurant in Wausau” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Eye Brewing Company

Red Eye Brewing Company
612 Washington St, Wausau, WI 54403-5439
715-843-7334
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Red Eye Brewing Company is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 133 Restaurants in Wausau
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night
Wausau, Wisconsin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Favorite restaurant in Wausau”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

This is my number one restaurant in the area. Good food, often with a little twist that makes it stand out. Of course there's quality beer since it's a brewery as well. The decor is nice and unique.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    60
    21
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rice Lake, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stopped here on the way across Wisconsin because of the reviews. But they really don't do it justice. Everyone loved their order.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“The Scarlet 7 is a must!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I love this place! The food is great, I love that they have a changing pasta salad as a side dish. There is too many good things to say, so I will say the only one that really matters. Their Scarlet 7 beer is the best beer ever. I typically drink wine, but I would choose this beer over any one every day!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Small Wiscocsin Brewery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stopped with friends to this particular brewery one weekend. If you are brave, try a local beer. If you prefer a traditional non-micro brew they have wine and soda. They are well known for their beer and pizza's. We had their beer and pizza and we were not disappointed. Even if you do not like micro-brews, at least stop for food. It will be well worth it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great pizza and beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stopped here while on a ski trip to granite peak. You can sample 4 of their beers for 5 bucks. We got 2 and sampled every beer on tap. If you like IPAs (sadly I don't) you will love the Thrush. I enjoyed the Bloom, a very light wheat beer.

Ordered wings as an appetizer, spicy but not too spicy. For the meal we had the pizza margarita. It was delicious! It comes with 4 pieces (we shared since we had filed up a bit on apps. But if you just get the pizza I would say its only for 1 person)

On the way out I ordered 2 howlers to bring home with me. Each howler contains 2 pints of beer (growlers contain 4). Howler is $7 and growler $14. They don't bottle/ sell beer. You can only get it as a howler or growler.

Overall great experience!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Eye Brewing Company also viewed

 

Been to Red Eye Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Eye Brewing Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.