We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food,” 5 of 5 stars
Review of City Grille

City Grille
203 Jefferson St, Jefferson Street Inn, Wausau, WI 54403
(715) 848-2900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 135 Restaurants in Wausau
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The City Grill is where you can get a good steak but don't need to dress up to eat it. Housed in the in beautiful downtown Wausau, it's a revolving door of locals seeking fine dining in a trendy atmosphere decorated in local art. The City Grill hosts live music once a week and is a great place to take a date or just watch the game with friends. And while the fillets and martinis taste top dollar, we promise they won't empty your pocketbook.
Fish Creek, WI
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

What a great resturant. Love their food. Everyone in my group who ordered was most impressed. Wish I were in Wausau now, getting hungry just thinking of the lunch i had there a few weeks ago. I am comming back!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    17
    8
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Evanston, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Don't”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Despite good reviews, my burger was tasteless, my daughters risotto was tasteless and the fish fry was over breaded and not as good as Custer's fried cod. It's not deserving of these positive reviews. It's a hotel restaurant at best.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

You have to try the blue chips - they are amazing! (If you like blue cheese that is) Prime Rib is also excellent!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Got dessert and drinks only, would go back for dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Our desserts were great. The mojito and old fashioned we ordered were made from scratch and muddled.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good Seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

My wife and I went there and had the scallops and they were delicious!!! Great atmosphere and located in downtown Wausau

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Grille also viewed

 

Been to City Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.