We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable, comfortable hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Wausau

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Wausau to your Saves list
Super 8 Wausau
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2006 Stewart Avenue, Hwy 51/I-39, Hwy 29 & 52, Wausau, WI 54401-5389   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Wausau
Certificate of Excellence 2014
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
107 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Affordable, comfortable hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

This Super 8 is very pleasent. We stayed for one night in September.

There were quite of roadworks going on while we were there, so it took us a while to find the entrance. It's very close to the McDonald's.

The room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was well stocked with the usual selections. There is lots of free parking.

There's not much around the hotel, although we did find a nice brewpub (Great Dane) about a 20 min walk away. The neighbourhood was completely safe, so walking was no problem. We passed a few joggers on our evening walk to the pub.

I would recommend this property to others.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    116
    39
    28
    15
See reviews for
103
50
25
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mineral Point, WI
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

The Wausau WI Super 8 delivers superior services at very affordable price. If you are traveling on a budget you can stay here knowing you will get a very clean and comfortable room. The staff are tremendous. When traveling in this area on business this is my hotel of choice.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nickpatelWausau, General Manager at Super 8 Wausau, responded to this review, October 24, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed a quiet night’s sleep, as well as your guest room. I also thank you for your comments on our staff, as service is exceptionally important to us. We take great pride in knowing that guest's such as yourself have left our hotel happy. We look very forward to seeing you the next time you are in Wausau.Nick Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lino Lakes, MN
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

We stayed here one weekday evening. I was pleasantly surprised at how clean and nice it was. And quiet, even though it's not far from the highway. The continental breakfast was as good as I've found in pricier hotels. Very reasonable rate - good value.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nickpatelWausau, General Manager at Super 8 Wausau, responded to this review, October 24, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am delighted to hear you had such a great experience with us, and we are always glad to get feedback from our guests, and I will be sure to share your comments with my staff. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Wausau. Nick Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas City, Texas
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

Stayed here for three nights in October, 2011. Very affordable, pet friendly hotel. Room was suitable furnished with a small desk, old style color TV (worked fine), and Queen size bed. Had a great breakfast room. Continental breakfast of biscuits and gravy, Belgian waffles, fruit and bagels, toast and donuts was very good for the low room rate we were charged. Hotel is behind a McDonald's and is easy to access from the freeway. Fair size indoor pool. A better hotel than I expected. I would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face the freeway for more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nickpatelWausau, General Manager at Super 8 Wausau, responded to this review, October 13, 2011
Reading your comments about the Breakfast makes me want to go for it. Thank you very much for letting us know how well your experience was, from the staff to the facilities. We are very fortunate to have the space we do to offer such a wonderful relaxing pool area. We are truly grateful for your comments. Please come and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
109 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

I was staying in Wausau for a weekend in October 2011 with two friends of mine and had the opportunity to stay at this Super 8. I had read the great reviews on TripAdvisor, and I was impressed when I got there! It was a great value and came with a lot of amenities.

The woman checking us in was friendly and courteous. Our room was clean and comfortable. I loved the fact that the hotel has an indoor pool and hot tub that's open 24 hours! I couldn't believe that. Most hotel pools close around 10 p.m., but my friends and I had a chance to use the pool and hot tub during the "adult quiet hours" after 10 p.m. It's awesome that the Super 8 offered this. Loved it.

I also appreciated the fact that the hotel had a computer that guests could use to check the Internet. Good stuff. Breakfast was very good because it had the make-your-own Belgian waffles, cereal, yogurt, etc., and warm biscuits with sausage gravy! Excellent.

Check-out was quick and easy. Everything went very well. We slept comfortably, and I would definitely recommend this Super 8 to anyone. You get a lot for what you're paying! :-)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nickpatelWausau, General Manager at Super 8 Wausau, responded to this review, October 5, 2011
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to complete our Guest Survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed our 24 hours pool and hot tub. In Wausau we are the only hotel that has 24 hours pool and hot tub.

Again, thank you for completing our survey and if I can be of assistance to you, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 7158482888.

Thank You,

Nick Patel
General Manager
Super8 Wausau, WI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hancock, Michigan
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

The motel is clean, friendly employees, good breakfast, quiet comfortable rooms, not far from shopping, restaurants within walking distance, and not far off highway. The road arrangements aren't the best but not too bad. The motel is located right behind McDonald's so not hard to find. We plan to stay here every time we are in town. One of the best motels we have stayed at and we travel across the country often.

Room Tip: We were next to the steps but still it was pretty quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nickpatelWausau, General Manager at Super 8 Wausau, responded to this review, October 5, 2011
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to complete our Guest Survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.

Again, thank you for completing our survey and if I can be of assistance to you, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 7158482888.

Thank You,

Nick Patel
General Manager
Super8 Wausau,WI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Wisconsin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

Stay there every Sept for 2 nights. Good value, friendly staff, clean and comfortable, stores and restaurants are near.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nickpatelWausau, General Manager at Super 8 Wausau, responded to this review, October 5, 2011
Thank you for the feedback and your loyalty to the Super8 Wausau, WI Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Wausau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Wausau

Address: 2006 Stewart Avenue, Hwy 51/I-39, Hwy 29 & 52, Wausau, WI 54401-5389
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wausau
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Wausau
#3 Business Hotel in Wausau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Wausau 2*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated motel located in a thriving service section of Wausau. We are close to many restaurants, recreational areas and shopping centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Super 8 Wausau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Wausau
Wausau Super Eight
Wausau Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Wausau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.