We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gasthaus

Gasthaus
2720 N Grandview Blvd, Waukesha, WI 53188-1611
262-544-4460
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Gasthaus is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 150 Restaurants in Waukesha
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Silvernail
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Unique”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Good atmosphere, very clean and very friendly. A great place to take people if their first time in town. They have a very wide selection of beer and just a great atmosphere overall.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    36
    12
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“When its Lent go to the Gasthaus for Fish!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

The food is GREAT, especially the Fish Fry! Tender and light all you can eat...What more can you ask for. The German food is the other reason to go there anytime!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hales Corners, Wisconsin
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Horror”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

The worst experience for fine dining in our lives. There are far better German restaurants. Sauerbraten was NOT tender!!! A rush job in preparation. We suspect some msg going on here. Also was cold as well as the staff. We were rudely and at one point angrily treated up front. We will never go here again. We're Very German and know know Germen food. This is not it. Also they may want to eliminate serving leftovers!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAUKESHA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

The atmosphere, food and service is very good. A great place to take out of town guests for excellent Germen cuisine.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“In heaven there is no beer.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

In heaven there is no beer....but there is plenty of it here! They have a good variety of beers both German and domestic, as well as Wisconsin brews.

Food is delicious. I had a steak which was prepared just as I asked. My friend had the wiener schnitzel which was excellent. I would question "mixed greens" in a salad being romaine and iceberg lettuce as "mixed" but the other food was great.

The decor is warm, cozy and abound with German nick-knacks great and small. This is a good place for a memorable eating experience. The atmosphere more than makes up for any small shortcomings in other areas.

The staff is friendly and efficient. (it was late and we were one of only 4 tables occupied)

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gasthaus also viewed

 

Been to Gasthaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gasthaus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.