We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel is lovely, that's about it.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Clarke Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Clarke Hotel to your Saves list
The Clarke Hotel
314 W. Main Street, Waukesha, WI 53186   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Waukesha
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Hotel is lovely, that's about it.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

Stayed here for two nights in November with my mother and sister. We were in town to visit family. Upon entering the hotel it appeared nice, very clean and nicely decorated. That is about all the good I have to say. There was a young woman who worked the front desk who always had a scowl on her face. When making a request to valet our car (there is no close overnight parking), or get linens for our pull out sofa she seemed very put out. She didn't offer any helpful information, anything we needed to know we had to pull out of her. Communication was definately a huge downfall at this hotel. The people don't communicate. It felt like we were expected to know how things were done there. There was not much useful information in the room as you normally find either. The checkout time could not even be found anywhere. The continental breakfast they have is next to nothing. Two small danishes, four cans of pineapple juice and a pot of coffee were all that was out at 7:30 in the morning. We never saw another soul. It was as though we were the only people there. There is no room service at this hotel, and not even a vending machine should you want a soda. We only saw the bar and restaurant open on Saturday. It is a shame because it is an attractive, historic area of downtown with nice little shops and galleries. The people at this hotel do nothing to make anyone want to come back again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    23
    7
    6
    8
See reviews for
15
29
3
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hartland, Wisconsin
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

We blocked off rooms at the Clarke Hotel for our wedding. The terrible experience began when our guests had to wait for 15 mins before someone was even at the front desk. They rang the bell several times and even tried calling...no one was around. Several of our guests were given rooms with fewer beds then they had reserved but were charged the higher amount. We had been told that breakfast would be provided, we even called two days prior to confirm what would be available, yet in the morning, there was no breakfast and my husband had to go out and buy bakery for our guests (not how I planned to spend our first morning as husband and wife). The employees gave various answers and seemed to have no idea what was going on. They even charged us for our room, which we were told would be free for using them for our wedding guests. When we asked to speak to a manager we were told one was not available. We have called few times over the last couple days and have yet to talk to a manager or receive a call back. They did, however, have time to call our guests and tell them they were being charged $90 a piece for robes that they say were taken (which they were not). This experience has made a perfect wedding weekend end in complete frustration.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wi
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

Terrific beds, love the bathroom (jacuzzi tub, multiple shower heads). Scones, coffee and juice in the morning. Don't stay on the 3rd floor unless you like dragging your suitcase up stairs (the elevator only goes to the 2nd floor). The restaurant is expensive for the area, but the food was wonderful. Old part of town, trying to come back, surrounded by bars and tattoo parlors, but check out the pottery shop across the street for some terrific deals on handmade ceramics.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

Hotel is trying to present itself as an upscale hotel, but it is just a small Mom and Pop Hotel. Hotel is newer construction, built of poor construction grade materials. We stayed on the second floor and I could hear ever step the room above us took. A/C did not work and we found out too late in the evening and front desk said he would need to call the owner of hotel in order for us to switch rooms. Shower door would not close all the way, thus water got all over the floor. Had to use extra towels to soak up water. Front desk gave me hard time for asking for additional towels due to there only being two of us, although I told them what happened regarding the shower.
No curtains, only shades that allow light to come through. If you want to sleep in or keep your room dark, not the place too stay.
Parking was way too far away from the hotel to park yourself and someone broke into two other cars the night we stayed at the hotel.
At dinner, we meet a couple that said the hotel was in finanial trouble. That last year the city almost took away their liquor lic. due to the fact they where so far behind in taxes.
For the money----------Stay at a chain hotel, where they will take care of you.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

We live not too far from here so staying was a choice just because we wanted to check it out. The place is a bit new for my taste, still missing the decor and nicknacks that collect over time and give a place charm. However the modern room was well appointed and the view of the Main street perfect for parade watching or people watching during the many art crawls in the area. We have eaten at the restaurant at least 4 times for dinner and twice for lunch each time we loved the food and service. Perhaps a little bit pricy for the area which is still recovering form old age and rundown into a quant and charming artsy downtown. But there is plenty of great galleries and shops to explore, more bars than I can count, and a great well landscaped river walk that seems to go on for a very long way if you need to walk, jog or ride a bike. I found the owners attentive and when asked they gave us a tour of the wine cellar, guest rooms kitchen and everything. Very accommodating and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorhead, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2010

My husband and I were researching a nice/romantic place to stay at the end of a road trip in the fall of 2009. We booked one of the last available rooms after seeing the Clarke Hotel's website. When we arrived, a valet helped us with our car and informed us on how to get to the lobby. It was at this point that we were told there was a wedding reception being held at the hotel. We had planned on having a romantic dinner at the hotel restaurant: closed due to the wedding. We came back to the hotel after visiting our friends for a good night's rest before our long drive home the next day: the DJ was directly below us and the bass was LOUD. The front desk laughed when I called to complain. It was well past midnight before the DJ stopped which was then followed by loud talking in the halls and slamming doors. This hotel is NOT quiet. Our room had a large window but no view-just a wall. Continental breakfast consisted of a cold pot of coffee, a tray of scones and an empty area where cold juice should have been. When we checked out in the morning, we explained why we were unhappy about our stay to the person at the front desk. However, Candie the manager was no where to be found and we were not given any compensation for our inconvenience. When we got home, I tried multiple times to call Candie and each time was asked what it was regarding. And each time I said that it was about a complaint, I was told Candie was "in a meeting." After several attemps I left a voice message that has never been returned. My advice for those looking to stay at this hotel: DO NOT stay here if there is a wedding unless you are part of it. This review has been difficult to write because the hotel is clean and has nice furnishings, but the bad service and wedding reception situation made for a terrible stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stitzer
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2009

I recently was a part of a meeting day at the Clarke Hotel. Our group used a large beautiful conference room and had an amazing day. Amazing space and wonderful customer service! I'm looking forward to going back for an overnight stay in their beautiful rooms and a night out in downtown Waukesha.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Clarke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarke Hotel

Address: 314 W. Main Street, Waukesha, WI 53186
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Waukesha
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Waukesha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your The Clarke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Clarke Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.