We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our new home away from home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Clarke Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Clarke Hotel to your Saves list
The Clarke Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   314 W. Main Street, Waukesha, WI 53186   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Waukesha
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Our new home away from home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

With a student starting at Carroll U in the fall, we will definitely be back to the Clarke. It's a fairly new boutique hotel in old downtown Waukesha, not too far from the Carroll campus. This is not a big city 5 star luxury boutique, so reset your expectations. Valet parking is available if you don't want to park in the garage which is two blocks away. There is no overnight street parking. Lobby is on the 2nd floor. Staff was very helpful and nice. Rates are very affordable. Our room was quite large with a sitting area and work area. The bed was super comfy and the linens were upscale. The Kohler shower and bubble tub were awesome! Room was very clean and quiet. Close to a few coffee shops and restaurants/ bars so walking in the area is easy. A nice change from the big chains. Thank you Clarke!!!

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    24
    7
    6
    8
See reviews for
17
30
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waukesha
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

While the room was lovely, I have a few problems with our stay. The website clearly stated that all rooms would have a tub. Having a knee injury, this was very important to me. Our room however did not have one. When Mentioned to the woman at the front desk I was blown off with some blaming of the website. The room was also unreasonably cold and took hours to warm up. Not so good on one of the coldest nights of the year.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carpentersville, Illinois
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

I was very nicely surprised by this hotel booked it for cheaper than alive the other chain hotels when I got there the room is amazing floor in the bathroom is not very clean the the bed was very soft, I prefer harder beds but I'm not complaining about that, pillows were very comfortable. The noise from the street was pretty noisy at night. The best thing about this place was the amazing shower that was there, it had lots of jets and sprayers for the single standing shower.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milwaukee
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a cozy, yet very modern hotel. We were so surprised to find this hidden gem. The room was large, had a gigantic, comfortable bed, ahhhh! Our bathroom was also quite large, with a jacuzzi tub, a separate large glass shower with several shower heads, all in beautiful marble tile. Lots of space in there. Of course a frig, and nice coffee service also in room. Most enjoyable. The first floor has a bar and restraunt, and you must take the elevator up to second floor to check in. Close to shops and eateries, etc.. Some rooms have an additional room within the room with another bed, large windows same as the other room for familes. Nice. You wont be disappointed here. There is a parking complex accross the street for over night parking, street side luggage drop off at the hotel, as well as day parking. Nice getaway for couples,

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goddard, Kansas
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

It was easy to find, NOT convenient to park (garage two blocks away). The check in desk was on the 2nd floor. It was very clean, no view from the window. The shower with multiple heads and body sprays was amazing! I've got to get that installed in my home! Never saw any staff after checking in. ZERO literature in the lobby on local attractions and ZERO literature in the room on hotel ammenities, TV channels, etc. Just an odd little place.

Room Tip: Cruise around some of the local blocks before parking/checking in to see where you want to go to eat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topsfield, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Get your best rate online for this surprising wonderful boutique hotel. Worth getting off I-94 and heading downtown Waukesha. Combine the stay with a visit to the unique art galleries downtown. Plenty of places to eat. Hotel rooms have very tall ceilings, large windows, mood lighting, wonderful beds. Some rooms have sort of funky dimensions, certainly not a square room, and not small. You will have to park your car in the nearby garage overnight as there is no on street parking overnight. Make sure to ask if any downtown events, such as Friday night live, or art crawl are taking place while you are there. Since you will be in the center of such fun occasions, there will be some noise.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We booked the Clarke hotel for Friday of Labor Day weekend and when we first arrived, we realized that there were several parking spots reserved for unloading our bags and so we parked there. The hotel lobby is kind of non-traditional in that it's on the second floor, so when you want to enter to check in, you must press the intercom button and they will buzz you in. After you check in and get your room key, you can later just use that to enter. Parking is complained about, but there are 2 parking garages within walking distance. You can go for valet for $10, or if you can walk about 2 blocks, you can just park in the garage, which is a $2 flat rate each time you park. It may not be a great option when it's cold and snowy, but when the weather is nice, I don't see why anyone wouldn't opt for a short walk and cheap parking.

So the building is built in between sharply angled streets and so the room layout and dimensions vary room to room. This makes for an interesting set of largely unique options when you are selecting a room. We got an executive suite which was very roomy with a King Size bed, a work desk, a plush chair, a mini-fridge, coffee maker, large closet, and very large, roomy bathroom. The shower in this room was really quite something...it was probably about 5' x7' feet with rubberized floor and clear glass all around...and there were 6 shower heads, I believe. So we were only there for one night, but I had to make sure I could fit two showers in.

There was also a Sony sound system which was really nice and you could use your ipod or iphone to play your music over the speakers. The towels, the furniture, the shades, the art..it all seemed like they used high quality versions. There were a lot of little nice surprises that would wouldn't get in your typical chain motel which made it feel pretty high-end.

The area around the hotel was also surprisingly cool. We didn't have any expectations about having much immediately around the hotel, but there was. The hotel is located in the center of a small downtown amidst 2-3 story buildings where there were local shops and restaurants. It may be just a summer thing, but every Friday night they have a small music/art festival and the hotel is right in the center of it. Saturday morning they held a really nice farmers' market about a block away. These little events actually threw off our plan a bit as we lingered a bit on Friday before we went to Milwaukee and lingered a bit on Saturday morning when we were originally planning on just taking off. So we ended up spending extra time in Waukesha, but I'm so glad we did. It was an enjoyable stay and the Clarke hotel actually enhanced the whole experience and I really can't say that of very many hotels that I've stayed in before.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Clarke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarke Hotel

Address: 314 W. Main Street, Waukesha, WI 53186
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Waukesha
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Waukesha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Clarke Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your The Clarke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Clarke Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.