We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable, great for kids” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Country Springs Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Country Springs Hotel to your Saves list
The Country Springs Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2810 Golf Road, Waukesha, WI 53186   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 Off Water Park Room
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Waukesha
Grayslake, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very enjoyable, great for kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2008

We looked for waterpark hotels in both Illinois and Wisconsin. Most were booked solid, with the exception of some that had very expensive rooms that were above our budget.

We contacted the hotel after looking at the reviews on tripadvisor.
We planned just an overnight and arrived on Friday, early afternoon. We got to the hotel about 1pm and was surprised that we and were able to check in right away. We stayed in a King Suite with a pullout bed; 2 adults, two children ages 6 and 15. The room was spacious and clean; including the large bathroom with jacuzzi. Though the shower stall was a little slippery, the place was spotless.

The hotel connected directly to the waterpark which made it nice to not have to go outside in the cold; remember, this is Wisconsin in the springtime... brrrr.

Both boys loved the waterpark slides, and indoor-outdoor heated hottub/jacuzzi pool. Food and drinks were priced high, though aren't all food places at waterparks these days.

On Friday night, we looked for a casual restaurant that offered a good menu for both children and adults. We called the "5 O'clock Club" and was told there would be an hour and a half wait. because we had a young one with us, we decided to eat at the hotel. Salads, burgers, and pasta we good, but the service was a lttle slow.

Saturday morning we allowed to have the free continental breakfast, though opted for pancakes at the Wildflower restaurant; at the hotel. Get to the free breakfast early if you don't want to wait. The Wildflower's prices again seemed reasonable.

The boys also enjoyed the game room which provided air hockey and mini bowling.

Would go back again.

  • Liked — Clean room and bathroom
  • Disliked — Slippery shower
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    55
    40
    21
    21
See reviews for
99
19
5
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2008

We spent a night at the Country Sprins Inn around Christmas. Basically did it to get a night out without kids and because it was cheaper than having 2 days worth of water park passed for 4. Hotel was decent enough, more like a motel than hotel, but certainly adequate. Breakfast was pretty lousy - a bunch of very sweet and yukie looking pastries. Not my thing, although the other guests (which all seemed to be a bunch of pretty heavyset locals) were loving it. But we basically stayed for the waterpark, and the park is fantastic. Our kids (3 and 5) loved it. They have prety liberal rules and mostly let the parents decide what is safe for the little ones. I mean, they had vests so they were pretty safe no matter what, but I was pleasantly surprised they let our kids join us on the big 30-foot tall slides. The kids loved those. Their favorite part was the outdoor jacuzzi - the day we were there it snowed over a foot and it was just so great hanging outside and watching it all unfold. On the downside, there are not nearly enough loung chairs and it hets crowded pretty quickly. The food is above average for this kind of a place.

  • Liked — water park
  • Disliked — breakfast
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2008

We stayed at this location for 2 nights while visiting family in the area. The hotel has an older section and a newer section. The newer section appears to be all suites, suitable for familes of 4 or more. If you do not mind sharing a double sized bed with someone else than the older section is just fine. Rooms are normal size but be advised that this facility does not have roll-a-aways so if you have more than 2 people unless you want to share a double bed, someone is on the floor. We brought our 3 children (ages 10 , 6 and 6) mainly to relax in the waterpark while seeing friends. The waterpark is typical of smaller hotel. Not so huge (Kalahari) that you have no clue where you're kids are, but not so small that you are on top of each other. I loved the lift that brought the big rafts to the top of the slide so the kids did not have to carry them (dangerous for my clutsy kids-- wet, hurried, excited kids with 4 flights of stairs with a big heavy raft = stitches in the chin). Our room was a suite with 2 queen beds, a pull out, fridge, microwave and a HUGE bathroom with a soaker tub and TV. My kids loved the bathroom!!! Watching TV in the tub was a hoot for them. The dining experience was pretty good with a decent selection and the bar was fun with 100 beers to choose from. The room price also includes continental breakfast (Krisp Kreme donuts, danishes, fruit and cereal ) that is served in the smaller indoor pool area. This was great because when the kids get up early in the AM you can take them for breakfast and a swim until the waterpark opens at 9:00 am.
All in all a really decent place to stay for a night or 2. There is also a Pick and Save (grocery store), Mc Donalds, Rocky Rococo's Pizza Walgreens within 3 miles.

  • Liked — The suite, the waterpark, continental breakfast
  • Disliked — Front desk clerk was slightly rude upon check-in
  • Stayed February 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2008

I am a Sales Executive for a major company who travels a lot. I was invited to a Christmas party with my husband and we decided to book a room for the night. Although I am familiar with the hotel and have been there several times in the past it had been a while since we booked a room. The hotel was completely remolded. The rooms were much nicer and the bed was softer since the last time we stayed a few years ago. I don't have small children but the water park seemed nice and because it was the weekend and it was cold outside, there were several children around.
The staff was busy but professional and check in did not take long at all. This is a good hotel for children because of the water park and I enjoyed the comfort of the room. Professional and competent customer service is one thing that I look for when staying at a hotel in addition to a comfortable room and bed.

I usually don't write reviews but I read them, therefore I think it's important to let others know, good or bad of your experiences and to let them make their own decision.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pewaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2007

My husband and I stayed for a quick trip on family business. The staff was extremely informative of the local area and helped us out with our many questions. The bed was sooo comfy! We noticed that the rooms were really updated and seemed new, and we were told that the hotel just finished a full renovation - very nice remodel! The restaurant had excellent food - even though the room rate came with a continental breakfast, we opted to eat breakfast one morning in their own restaurant, and we went back 2 more mornings! The hotel also has a water park- which is very large and indoors-there is also a large arcade were I beat my husband in bowling-boxing and skateboarding-much fun to blow off some excess steam! Overall - we heard about the hotel thru family and suggest this to family's, corporate travelers and business meeting person(s) at anytime! Great sleep and eat and stay! Thank you!

  • Liked — The comfort of the bed and the cleanliness of the hotel! Nice Staff
  • Disliked — Never heard of it before - so never stayed here before!
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvard, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2007

All and all, I enjoyed my 2 night stay.
The bad: Customer service mishaps...
When reserving the room I was told I was paying 1 night with the water park and one night without the water park price... but upon check in, I was being charged for 2 nights with water park until I questioned the charge (and I checked in at 8:15pm; the water park closed at 8pm).
I was told to park and enter an entrance that was locked and the route that was drawn on my property map led to a loading dock.
They did not have swim diapers to sell.
The woman at the desk was just short of being rude during check-out, and there was no quick checkout process that I came across.

The good:
The room 3116 was very nice. Loved the lay-out. Homey and sophisticated decor. Highly recommend the rooms in the Executive House.
The marble bathroom was luxurious with a TV infront of the whirlpool (which would comfortably accomodate 1 adult or 2 skinny midgets). Lots of towels were provided. Plenty of storage to keep toiletries off the counter.
Comfortable bed. The pullout sofa was also surprisingly comfy... for a hide-a-bed.
Loved the room service. Prices are the same as if you were to go down to the in house restaurant, but there is a 15% charge for room service (don't forget you have to tip, also). Having 2 small childern, I didn't mind paying for not having to deal with them in a restaurant environment. The food was good (I ordered the ruben and fruit plate for lunch AND dinner). The pretzel coated chicken dinner was also delicious.
The water park was clean with a wide range of intensity for the rides, although I don't think it is worth it for children under 5 yrs. There were more life guards than patrons both times I went (once in the late morning and once in the evening). They were watchful, but not annoying. They offer free life vests for children.
The waterpark price includes admission on your check out date. So you can check out at 11am, but still have access to the park for the entire day.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, room service, water park.
  • Disliked — Desk staff was either inept or rude.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2007

Our family of 3 stayed here Aug 7-8. We contacted the hotel directly to book our room. We were able to get a great rate $99 per night in a standard room, including 4 waterpark passes. This is considerably cheaper than the rates advertised on Expedia, Travelocity and even the hotel reservations web page. So make a phone call to the hotel before you book on-line.

The waterpark was nice but didn't have many toddler items. Most of it was geared for kids over 4. We were VERY impressed with the lifeguards. Each pool had 3 or 4 guards and each one was very focused on the area assigned to them. Safety is obviously a top priority here. The snack bar in the waterpark was expensive ($30 for 3 hamburgers, soft drinks and cotton candy) but good. All areas were clean and well-maintained.

Our standard room (#112) was just recently updated with new carpet, wallpaper, tub and sink. All standard rooms DO have a microwave and refrigerator. No need to pay extra for them. Our room opened to the courtyard with patio tables and chairs. It was a nice place to have breakfast and read the paper.

The only real negative experience for us was Wildflowers restaurant. It was overpriced ($70 for the 3 of us) and basically tasteless. Service was slow and we couldn't figure out why - we were one of only three families in the restaurant and waiters/waitresses seemed abundant. But yet it took us over an hour to order and get our food. Don't waste your time or money here. Go off the property for dinner if you can.

Overall, this place is a nice option for families looking for something a little nicer than the standard hotel room. The waterpark is a fun and safe place for the kids to play and the rooms are clean and comfortable.

  • Liked — waterpark
  • Disliked — restaurant
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Country Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Country Springs Hotel

Address: 2810 Golf Road, Waukesha, WI 53186
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Waukesha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Waukesha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Country Springs Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Country Springs Hotel, Water Park and Conference Center, located only 20 minutes west of Milwaukee, is situated on 40 picturesque acres of the Kettle Moraine Countryside. Our luxurious whirlpool suites, 40,000 square feet of meeting space, 2 restaurants and a 45,000 square foot Water Park is the *Essence of Hospitality*. Each of guest rooms include free WiFi, microwave and refrigerator. Suites offer spacious, marble bathrooms with whirlpool tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Country Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Springs Hotel
Country Springs Waukesha

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Country Springs Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.