We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Setting, Good Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albatross Drive-In

Albatross Drive-In
Ferry Road & Main Road, Washington Island, WI
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Description: Order at window. Outside seating. Burgers, chicken, etc. and plenty of ice cream
Restaurant details
Description: Order at window. Outside seating. Burgers, chicken, etc. and plenty of ice cream
Peoria, Illinois
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Charming Setting, Good Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Not fast food, but great food worth waiting for. My wife and I both ordered burgers and as burgers go, they both scored 10. Onion rings were very good as well. We sat on a picnic table on a perfect day and really absorbed Washington Island. Staff is very friendly.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    9
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best burger I've had in Door County”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Talk about a deliciously juicy burger... oh my... we waited about 10 minutes for our food and it was SO worth it. Best burger by far that we have had in Door County. We would go back to Washington Island just for the burger...

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great American Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Hefty portions, great food, and excellent deserts. Prices appear high until the food comes out - at which point, it's clear they are very reasonable. Wait times can be long, but the pace of life is simply slower everywhere on the island, and the food is definitely worth it. Open late during the summer.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Plain Old Ice Cream”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Alby's, as it's referred to by locals, serves up burgers that sounded delicious, but we had already eaten. We stopped there shortly before leaving the island for some ice cream which sounded really good at the time.

I got just a simple strawberry shake and with the $6.50 it cost me, I was expecting something spectacular so was disappointed when it tasted just like the same old shake you'd get at McDonald's. I love ice cream, but there was nothing about this ice cream that justified paying $6.50.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan Falls, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't let the prices scare you”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

The menu may come off as a bit pricey, but let's face it, you're on an island! For what you pay the food quality is WELL worth it. Premium burgers and hot dogs!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Albatross Drive-In also viewed

Washington Island, Door County
Washington Island, Door County
 
Washington Island, Door County
Washington Island, Door County
 

Been to Albatross Drive-In? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albatross Drive-In, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.