We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Drive In Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albatross Drive-In

Albatross Drive-In
Ferry Road & Main Road, Washington Island, WI
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Description: Order at window. Outside seating. Burgers, chicken, etc. and plenty of ice cream
Restaurant details
Description: Order at window. Outside seating. Burgers, chicken, etc. and plenty of ice cream
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Drive In Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stopped after a trip to Rock Island. Great burgers, fries, and onion rings. Lots of variety for both food and ice cream.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    9
    7
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wausau, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not Worth The Wait”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stopped for lunch, and it took over an hour to get 4 burgers, 1 hot dog, and an order of cheese curds. The burgers were dry and over cooked. They lacked seasoning and taste. The buns were store bought and nothing special. Other customers commented about the wait time, and the girl at the window rudely commented, "The sign clearly says we are not fast!" On a good note, the shakes were very good. Next time I visit Washington Island, I will not be eating here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wi
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“There's good reason for this place to always have a crowd!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

It's a good thing we don't live closer to this place, because I would be in line for a shake every afternoon!
They offer a wide variety of typical drive-in options, from burgers to ice cream. Everything smelled wonderful.
We enjoyed a twist cone, chocolate shakes, and a butterfinger shake. Shakes were $4.50, but they were well worth the money. Best shakes ever. HUGE.
Outdoor seating on picnic tables and swinging benches. There were even some kid's play areas- sandbox.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great place for ice cream”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stopped here for ice cream after riding rental bikes to Schoolhouse Beach. The ice cream was good and hit the spot.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“The fun place to eat great burgers and other freshly prepared treats!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

The Albatross is a unique Washington Island treat! The food is great and the portions are generous. The staff is friendly and courteous to all. I could go "on and on" on the choices of Ice Cream!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Albatross Drive-In also viewed

Washington Island, Door County
Washington Island, Door County
 
Washington Island, Door County
Washington Island, Door County
 

Been to Albatross Drive-In? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albatross Drive-In, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.