We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very unique and beautiful beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Schoolhouse Beach

Schoolhouse Beach
Washington Island, WI
Improve this listing
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
Attraction details
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Very unique and beautiful beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We took the ferry to Washington Island and while the rest of the island is just ok... we thought this beach was a very unique spot and interesting. The water is a little cold and very rocky (which is what makes it so unique) so it's not really a swimming beach but beautiful views all around. The rocks are smooth limestone.

I would not recommend the Door County Cherry Train Tours trip though unless you are a "tour" person. The kids were bored within minutes and the guide spoke for nearly the entire two hours. The stops were about 10-15 minutes in each spot.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    29
    13
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wheaton, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Skip some perfect stones”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

The beach is beautiful. The whole beach is full of these smooth white stones. These stones are great for skipping or stacking. We didn't swim, but the water looked very clear.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A beautiful beachy paradise! DEFINITELY CHECK IT OUT!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

This is a must see if you head to Washington Island! We were only able to spend an hour here but would definitely go back to spend an entire day! If you're looking for a place to relax and enjoy the beautiful sounds of waves and some beautiful scenery....this is the place for you! The only other time I felt this relaxed on a beach was in Australia! Perfect!!! :)

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Stone beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

White stone beach with clear, beautiful green water. Restroom facilities nearby. It would have been nice to have the time to really enjoy the beach but since we were on a Viking Train Trolley, that was out of the question. We got ten whole minutes.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, WI
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“A different kind of beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

My wife and I, along with out three grandchildren (6, 8, and 11), visited the beach as part of a day-trip to Washington Island. The beach is made up of smooth limestone pebbles rather than sand. This means that the water is clearer and more inviting, but that sand beach activities are limited. The water was also rather cold so that our children decided that they were finished after an hour.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schoolhouse Beach also viewed

Washington Island, Door County
Washington Island, Door County
 
Fish Creek, Door County
Baileys Harbor, Door County
 

Been to Schoolhouse Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schoolhouse Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.