We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unique beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Schoolhouse Beach

Schoolhouse Beach
Washington Island, WI
Improve this listing
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
Attraction details
Minneapolis,MN
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“unique beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

a soft rock beach with amazing clear water--cold --but amazing. It rained when we were there so we didn't spend alot of time there but if it wasn't raining we would have spent the afternoon there. Worth seeing

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    29
    13
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pecatonica, Illinois
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
76 attraction reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

This is a beautiful spot on Washington Island. The round rocks make this an unusual beach, and the trees growing around the shore are striking.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatine, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Most beautiful beach in the Midwest!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Absolutely loved this beach-water is perfect, clear and stones are polished and beautiful. Pick up a tasty sandwich and brew and head there!!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Lots of rocks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

The beach is 100 % rocks. Round rocks that are okay to sit and hang out on. The beach has a raft that you can swim out to and jump in off of. It is in a lovely bay and the kids loved jumping in off the raft and swimming and tossing rocks in the water. A good afternoon for us.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great beach, worth the visit, stop in town for a bit, too”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We took the Island Clipper and then went on the Viking Train tour. We considered bringing our car to Washington Island over the other ferry but thought we'd leave the touring to the pros. I think it was a good idea and we'd recommend the tour. We saw the ostrich farm (around a B), the general store of the town (D), a cool church (B) and the Schoolhouse Beach (A). The beach is very picturesc and the water is a beautiful auqa blue. I wish we spent more time there. However, we asked the tour guide to let us off in town on their way back through and we had a blast at all 4 bars in the town. We made our own Washington Island pub crawl and enjoyed talking to the islanders and tourists alike.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schoolhouse Beach also viewed

Washington Island, Door County
Washington Island, Door County
 
Fish Creek, Door County
Baileys Harbor, Door County
 

Been to Schoolhouse Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schoolhouse Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.