We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place on Washington Island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jackson Harbor Inn

Jackson Harbor Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Washington Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jackson Harbor Inn
Save
You added Jackson Harbor Inn to your Saves list
N1899 Jackson Harbor Road, Washington Island, WI 54246   |  
Hotel amenities
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Place on Washington Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed at Jackson Harbor Inn last summer and will be there again in August. Pam is incredible and the rooms are lovely. The location is lovely, the rooms are beautifully decorated, and we have been going to Washington Island for years and this is the best place on the island.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
16
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

We stayed here over the summer and LOVED it.

Jackson Harbor is very quiet, exactly what I was looking for. We brought our bikes and would explore the island. When my GF wanted to just read, I would walk over the the boat docks and talk with the friendly people there.

The hotel is right next to a great beach and lots of hiking trails. We LOVED our trip. It is not the sort of place one goes for lots of exciting things to do. Its more of a relaxing outdoorsy sort of a trip. Not so touristy as the main part of door county. Highly recommend this island and inn if you are looking for a place to rest and relax.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BERKELEY
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

This inn has several different accommodations. There were other people there on a family reunion using the private remodeled rooms with private baths and the best views. We rented the 2 bedrooms with the shared bathroom upstairs for half the price. The kitchen is fully stocked and available to everyone. It was very useful and comfortable. There are outside grounds for barbeques and games on the grass. It is a good family environment. It is also near hiking trails and the fishing and boating dock. It's the perfect inn for watching sunrises.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
249 helpful votes 249 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

Welcoming hostess. Ideal location ... great for walking along/in the sandy cove to the east. Spacious rooms with microwaves, refrigerators ... unlimited use of the "big kitchen". Lots of games for kids in the front room. Outstanding views from our balcony of the harbor and night sky ... incredibly relaxing. Would I stay there again? Yes. Absolutely.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

Pam, the Innkeeper is hands on in providing a wonderful experience for her guests. The completely updated Harbor House has great views and large spacious rooms with new bathrooms and large walk in showers. It is next to the ridges which feature a beach and shallow warm (for Lake Michigan) water. The Jackson harbor is adjacent and salmon and trout charter fishing is available there. I have been out fishing with Wayne Lane for a number of years and he is excellent and you catch fish. The island has many gems and is excellent for hiking, biking and rerlaxing.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Horeb, WI
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2009

Beautiful place to stay on the north side of Washington Island in Jackson Harbor. Our room with a king bed was beautiful and clean. It overlooked the harbor and Rock Island could be seen in the distance. Great place for kayaking on Lake Michigan. The location was very quiet and next to a bird sanctuary with hiking trails. The owner was very gracious and made us feel welcome. We didn't want to leave. Photo of sunrise from our room.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2009

The Jackson Harbor Inn is located on a quiet bay, looking northeast to Rock Island State Park. There are quiet walks in any direction, a pair of swans and their young in the harbor, sunrise views in the morning and sunset reflections off Rock Island in the evening. The rooms are very comfortable and well furnished, and the owner, who is a member of a family that has been on the island for generations, can point you to all the points of interest on the island, whether publicized or not. This is a gem.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jackson Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jackson Harbor Inn

Address: N1899 Jackson Harbor Road, Washington Island, WI 54246
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Washington Island
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Washington Island
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Jackson Harbor Hotel Washington Island
Jackson Harbor Inn Washington Island, WI - Door County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jackson Harbor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.