We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go to spot for pastry on the island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Danish Mill

The Danish Mill
1934 Lobdell Point Road, Washington Island, WI 54246
9208472632
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Bakery, Coffee Shop, Danish, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Description: Established in 2010 with the atmosphere of a Danish Bakery. Located on beautiful Washington Island at the tip of Wisconsin's Door County Peninsula, we feature fresh baked breads, Kringle, pastries, pies, cookies and bars. In addition to the mouth watering bakery, we have the best sandwiches in the county - made exclusively with quality Boar's Head brand deli products. Add to this homemade soups, salads and Door County Coffee, tea, smoothies and espresso drinks and a friendly "fast casual" restaurant environment, and you have an unforgettably delicious dining experience.
Lombard, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Go to spot for pastry on the island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We were so happy when this spot opened a few years ago under the hands of island natives. Great sandwiches & tea steamers, but our favorite purchase here is always the pastries baked daily on site and luscious. Easy to stop at on your way inland from the ferry - right on Detroit Harbor Road - look for the windmill!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    12
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Fast and delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The bakery is great! You can also call ahead and they will have sandwiches waiting for you. Their deli food is also very good. Fast and friendly service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wi
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely bakery/cafe and gift shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Delicious selection of bakery. We loved the almond and cherry kringles. Also enjoyed the frozen frappes- carmel, mocha, and frozen hot chocolate. Their blended drinks have a bit more of tiny ice crystals, so if you're into super smooth, go for a heated drink instead. The selection varies from day to day (although you can make a special order), so be prepared to just come and choose from the day's goods- everything looked amazing to me!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great almond bars”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stopped in for some deli meat and picked up an almond bar too. I love almond bars and this was one of best I have had.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thiensville, Wisconsin, United States
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Danish Delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

A little gift shop and deli. I love the windmill, if you want a quick bit to eat, this is the place to stop at.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Danish Mill also viewed

Washington Island, Door County
Washington Island, Door County
 
Sister Bay, Door County
Fish Creek, Door County
 

Been to The Danish Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Danish Mill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.