We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deliscious to two starving travelers.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sailor's Pub Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sailor's Pub Restaurant
1475 South Shore Drive, Washington Island, WI
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: This is a little restaurant at the marina on Washington Island, WI. They have great food and top notch service. I found it this summer. You should include them in your reviews so more people can try their great food. It's not cheap, but it's worth it.
Madison WI
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Deliscious to two starving travelers.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We stopped in for an early dinner absolutely famished! Our wait person was quick to attend to us and bring us our drinks and warm bread. The bread is wonderful and there is olive oil, balsamic and parmesan to dip in. One of us ordered the lobster in vodka sauce on the recommendation of our server and the other ordered the whitefish. I would bet you that the server told the cook how famished we were because there was a LOT of chunks of lobster in my pasta and a LOT of pasta and oh how very tasty and good it was. The white fish was prepared very well and was a nice sized fillet. We would definitely return again, but...with reservations for the special of the evening.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    7
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Surprising Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We arrived at this marina restaurant by boat. It has indoor and outdoor dining but we chose to dine inside. We were welcomed by the friendliest staff that we have ever encountered. Our foursome enjoyed a drink at the bar before taking our seats at a comfortable table. We all had salads and warm rolls.The salmon with pesto sauce and the coconut shrimp were delicious! The steaks were juicy and tasty also. We continued to be surprised with our dining experience when a huge ice cream sundae was served. It was a hot fudge sundae with Bailey's Irish Cream. This was a wonderful experience and we hope to visit again soon. Make a reservation.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Get a Reservation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

A very small and friendly establishment. Make sure that you get a reservation because it is very very popular. Get the perch...some of the best fish breading I have ever had and the tartar sauce is to die for.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the view but pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We visited as a family-kids meals were over $7 each and offered nothing special, hamburger, cheeseburger, chicken tenders or buttered noodles. I asked if I could get fettuccine sauce (which is on the adult menu) on the noodles and the waitress said no. $7 for buttered noodles was a stretch.

We ordered steak sandwiches (least expensive entree option) which were served on flat bread, so you couldn't really eat them as a sandwich. The other entrees were between $17-$37. I enjoyed mine but my spouse said it was nothing special.

The view over the bay was lovely at sunset so maybe it's safer to order an appetizer then the full meal. Service was okay but slow. Again nothing memorable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lombard, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Celebration spot with waterside sunsets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This is our current special occasion dining spot on the island. Wonderful fish dishes right on the water. Reservations a good idea in the fall as the hours are restricted more to weekends then.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sailor's Pub Restaurant also viewed

Washington Island, Door County
Washington Island, Door County
 
Washington Island, Door County
Washington Island, Door County
 

Been to Sailor's Pub Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sailor's Pub Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.