We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Washburn

The Inn at Washburn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Inn at Washburn to your Saves list
The Inn at Washburn
123 Harborview Dr, Hwy 13, 6 mi North of Hwy 2, Washburn, WI 54891-0626 (Formerly Super 8 Washburn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Washburn
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Just Ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2009

The hotel had the location we wanted for a one night stay. The hotel was in better shape than i expected, but i feel very overpriced for what you get. The room was clean which was a plus, but the hotel is very old so it has that "old motel" smell. The continental breakfast was disappointing, cereal, packaged donuts and bagels. If i had planned ahead i would have definately looked for other lodging, but this was a last minute trip. One good thing is that the hotel does have free wifi, which i believe it a must at any hotel these days. Overall i was happy that our room was clean and air conditioned, just would have liked to paid a lower price!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    6
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
5
9
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

Do yourself a favor and drive to Bayfield. I can't believe how expensive this place is. The photos are WAY nicer than the place. The whole place smells like cigarettes and disinfectent. The hotel shares a parking lot with the steak pit. If you like to sleep in forget it. The curtains block hardly and light and people's dogs are barking in the morning. The bed is hardly that, I've slept on cots more comfortable. The towels are like super fine sand paper and all the furniture is peeling and old. Bathroom fixtures are rusting and grout is molding. Oh ya and the hot tub is out broken. Sad just very sad hopefully they will tear it down soon, so it stops blocking the view or the harbor.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2007

I was actually surprised the hotel was nicer than I expected & remembered from staying there years ago. There were 3 of us & had a room w/2 dbls & a roll-a-way. The double beds were comfie it appeard to me that the hotel had recently renovated their rooms to include new carpet as well as new bedding. The roll-away was old and not very comfie at all--but what roll-away is. The only down side's were the hot tub was not working well not sure what the problem was but didnt really make or break my stay. Also the Cont. Breakfast was moderate too many sugary foods for my taste. The only other concern was that they do not have an elevator, which was kind of an issue for my dad who has a bad hip, no first floor rooms were available when we checked in...I should have done some more research on this but really didnt think of it since most hotels have elevators.

I would reccommend this for a short stay as long as your not expecting the Ritz you'll be fine.

  • Liked — They accepted pets.
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2007

I booked this hotel in person - the front desk staff was very nice.
This hotel is way overpriced! I only stayed because it was late and I didn't know the area. The room was ok, the bed was old and practically broken. I didn't want to walk around without shoes!
The price was a killer for a Super 8. If you follow the road for another 5 miles there are a lot more choices, many with better rates I'm sure. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwardsville, Illinois
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2006

Property appears to be recently renovated. Rooms and the spa area were very clean and in great shape. The location is very convenient if vacationing in the area. It is a block from the main shopping area of Washburn.

Rooms do NOT have a view of the lake. The property is right on the harbor, but the orientation doesn't give the guest rooms a view. Not a problem unless you plan to sit in your room and stare out the window.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Washburn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Washburn

Address: 123 Harborview Dr, Hwy 13, 6 mi North of Hwy 2, Washburn, WI 54891-0626 (Formerly Super 8 Washburn)
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Washburn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Washburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Inn at Washburn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Washburn
Super Eight Washburn
Washburn Super 8
Washburn Super Eight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Washburn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.