We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Returned for the bread... This is a bakery with a small café.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Back To Bread

Back To Bread
230 James St Ste C, Wales, WI 53183-9554
(262) 968-9098
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 10 Restaurants in Wales
Restaurant details
Oconomowoc
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Returned for the bread... This is a bakery with a small café.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This is a review of the bakery, not the café. The bread is excellent -*****-unfortunately the service is so poor -*- that it is not a pleasant experience to go there. Have been getting bread and rolls from there on/off for many years. At the beginning they had a very friendly salesperson who moved away. She knew all her customers. Once she left, customer service deteriorated, you no longer feel welcome there, and they are an independent bakery.... Stopped going there regulalrly, still bread is good!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    0
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wales, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Bread but no so friendly staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

The bread that I have gotten there has always been good, but it is not just the food that keeps the customers. The service has seem to go down hill. The lady at front counter wasn't friendly at all, and the owner was not friendly at all he made it seem like I was an inconvenience to him rather then a buying customer.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great Bread”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Great Fresh Bread, get in early for the best selection. Nice local independent bakery, keep up the great work.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“good but”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Over a year ago the danishes used to be smaller and tasted better, now they are bigger and taste doughy or too much bread. I once bit into it and found uncooked dough. Have avoided going since then because the uncooked dough made me sick. I liked it when they were smaller. Anyways if you buy 2 big danishes and a loaf of the cranberry bread (11 slices) it will come to $9.50 and that is too much money. The bread is good but $5.50 for 11 slices and I think some of those slices I counted were the tiny end pieces, yet the cranberry is a yummy special, so I might buy that again. $2 bucks each for oversized bready danish...bigger is not always better. Please go back to smaller danish...even some older folk that I have talk to would like that too.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dousman, Wisconsin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful bread”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Their bread is so good - fresh and full of great homemade flavor

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Back To Bread also viewed

 

Been to Back To Bread? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Back To Bread, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.