We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cookie cutter sports bar- except more gay friendly.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of 5th Quarter

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
5th Quarter
161 Horizon Dr, Verona, WI 53593-1249
608-845-9690
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 29 Restaurants in Verona
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Stillman Valley
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Cookie cutter sports bar- except more gay friendly.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Proto typical sports bar- and on game day it will serve your needs. The food was average, beer selection good, very clean, and fair priced. I wouldn't go out of my way to come here, but it was next to our hotel and worth a drop in.

There was a surprisingly high amount of openly gay/lesbian patrons here, so I would say it is LGBT friendly.

Good sized beer garden outside. New Glarus and Leinies beer on tap.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    3
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reedsburg, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

a sports bar - noisy and typical bar food. Would not recommend for fish fry. needed to go to bar to get attention of wait staff, Probably a good neighborhood hang out but not a family place

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“My regular go to place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

When I can't decide where to eat, I go to the 5th Quarter. When I want a fish fry, I go the the 5th Quarter. When I want a real corned beef brisket of high quality on St. Patty's Day, I go to the 5th Quarter. This is a family owned business, and the staff is super attentive and friendly. They have a meat raffle on Thursdays which starts at 4pm. Their drinks are stiff, and there is a nice selection of beer available. I highly recommend the cheese curds, which are made from a mild, local brick cheese. The crowd that hangs out here is also friendly.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A warm and inviting "neighborhood" bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

A fun environment; lots of TVs tuned to sporting events, very nice owner and bartenders. The menu ranges from bar burgers (very good) to fish fries or other daily specials. Just an all around nice place to hang out and relax.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Wonderful small town restaurant with great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Friends invited us to join them for dinner at the 5th Quarter. I hadn't even heard of it. It's not on a main street through town. We were greated by a friendly waitress who was very attentive throughout our meal. The bar is separate from the restaurant, although you can sit and eat in the bar area. As it was Friday, we decided to go with the fish fry. I had broiled with au gratins and my husband had fried with hasbrowns (with cheese and onion). Both fish t were ender and delicious. He made the better decision regarding the potatoes. Although mine were good, they kind of tasted like boxed au gratins. Coleslaw and bread were also good. I can't wait to go back to try the patty melt and other sandwiches. I've heard the soup is great too.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 5th Quarter also viewed

 

Been to 5th Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 5th Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.