We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view, but that's it.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Lighthouse Inn Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Lighthouse Inn Hotel to your Saves list
Lighthouse Inn Hotel
1515 Memorial Drive, Two Rivers, WI   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Two Rivers
minnesota
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Nice view, but that's it.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

Hotel is a bit on the old side. Right on Lake Michigan, and a busy highway. It really is about 15 feet from the lake. Good parking. Restaurant/Bar is ok. My tartar sauce was nasty, so was the whitefish I ordered. The fish tasted really really old. I couldn't eat most of it. I almost yacked out the first bite. I took a second bite from the other end to see if that would make a difference; nope-just as nasty. Probably NOT a good place to stay. The main floor bathroom was really filthy and smelled bad. Hold your breath. The upstairs was clean but musty. Employees are pleasant.

Room Tip: Ask if they have a room that does not smell musty, or go during the summer so you can open the windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    28
    11
    8
    3
See reviews for
15
30
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

we where looking for a one hundred mile get away.from madision. toid to go to two rivers. the room over looking lake michigan was awsome.slept to the sound of the surf. staff very friendly.used my military discount.saving a few bucks.would love to come back in the summer.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

This is a great location right on the shores of Lake Michigan, but this hotel is in dire need of updating. Our room was clean but very musty and damp smelling. The air conditioner was on, but had little or no effect on the odors.

We will not return until there are major changes. It was not worth the price they are asking.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Two Rivers hotels

Pewaukee, WI
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We stayed at the Lighthouse Inn for two nights for a wedding reception which was also held in the hotel's banquet hall.

The Lighthouse Inn has been a family-owned and operated establishment since it was built over 30 years ago. It sits literally a few yards from the shore of Lake Michigan.

The first thing you will notice is that there is a bit of a seaside smell to the hotel. As somone who grew up living near Lake Michigan, I can assure you the smell is not a result of the cleanliness of the hotel, but rather just how Lake Michigan smells.

The rooms are clean. Carpet and bedspreads are recent. The room featured two queen beds, a large desk with a hard-back chair, a smaller desk witha cushioned, wheeled chair, and a rocking chaor. There were four drawers in the dresser, and three in the tv stand. The TV was a later model tube tv. RCA composite inputs were also present on the TV. I was pleasantly surprised by the channel selection on the TV as well. I also was happy to have plenty of outlets under the smaller desk forchargers. A microwave and small fridge are also provided.

The bathroom is clean, but it is also one area where the hotel shows its age. The fixtures and tile appear to be original. Be prepared for olive green tile! That being sad, the age has its advantages. The bathtub is quite simply the fastest filling tub I have ever seen.

The hotel also ofers free wifi, bicycle rental,and has a computer in the lobby for guest use as well. I did not find a luggage cart any of the three days we were there. The fitness center appeared to be adequate, but I didn't use it. I also didn't use the hot tubor pool. I was happy to see that the pool has two hours each evening when it is open to adults only.

Two things to kfeep in mind: 1) The hotel is not ADA friendly. The ice machine is on the 2nd floor and there is no elevator. 2) The Parkside rooms do overlook a park, but that park is across the road so you'll be greeted by the parking lot in between.

The Lighthouse Inn also features an on site restaurant and bar. I ate three meals there. The first evening I had an appetizer sampler. The vanilla sweet potato fries are to die for. The second day I had eggs benedict, which was well-prepared. The last day I had a breakfast which was ok, but all meals were marred by extremely slow service. I waited 20 minutes for a check, and my breakfast meal took over 45 minutes to receive.

The food served at the banquet facilities was excellent. All facilties have stunning lake views.

I will consider staying as a getaway with my wife again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

We were within easy distance of anything we want to do in the town, including riding rented bikes on the paved trail between Two Rivers and Manitawoc. The staff was super friendly and helpful, hotel computer very accessible and free to use. The attached restaurant served very tasty and reasonably priced food. And overlooking the lake from both the restaurant and bar was very restful. The only drawback was that the bathroom needed some updating and could have used a fan. (What is that anyway? No hotels have bathroom fans anymore. Trying to see yourself in a steamed up mirror is awful!)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

Clean beds and towels. Very nice view on the lake. Some ants in the room. Friendly and welcoming staff. Well maintained. Good waterpressure and hot shower. Rooms look freshly painted, microwave and fridge in the room. Decorations and furniture look old fashioned.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, IL
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

The Inn is an older, but well maintained, hotel located directly on the Lake Michigan shore. It has two stories and does not have an elevator. There is an in-door pool, hot tub and exercise room.

With our senior discount the rate was $108.00/night.

Our room was very large with two comfortable queen-size beds, an easy chair, a desk w/chair, a small refrigerator and microwave. The bathroom is dated but did have large thick towels. There is no exhaust fan in the bathroom.

There is a bar and restaurant in the hotel. The food was good.

There is a PC with Internet access in the lobby for guests to use.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lighthouse Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lighthouse Inn Hotel

Address: 1515 Memorial Drive, Two Rivers, WI
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Two Rivers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Two Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Lighthouse Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lighthouse Hotel Two Rivers

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lighthouse Inn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.