We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Peaceful Get-Away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat to your Saves list
Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat
N10884 Hoinville Road, Trego, WI 54888   |  
Hotel amenities
Rice Lake, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A Peaceful Get-Away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have stayted at Heartwood Center several times. Recently, we rode our snowmobiles there and spent the night. We checked in and then rode down to the restaurant and had a delicious meal by the fireplace. The restaurant and bar are only open limited days and hours. The lodge did sell pizza and wine. The lodge also had an order form if you wanted to order limited breakfast items for the next morning. Our room had a refrigerator and microwave, so we could have brought some of our own food. The beds were comfortable and the room was very clean. There is an outside hot tub and numerous ski trails. They sell gas for the snowmoblies on property. It was a lovely stay, we will return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    12
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
17
17
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Balsam Lake, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed here 2/1613 - 2/18/13. The rooms were clean and had a fridge and microwave and a lot of cupboard and counter space. The beds and pillows were very comfortable and the water pressure in the shower was great. The layout of the place is really spread out. We drove to the restaurant for dinner, which was very good. Highly recommend the duck and the beer cheese soup. The restuarant wasn't open on Sunday for breakfast but they had a breakfast buffet in the main lodge was was excellent.

Room Tip: I believe we just had a standard room and were happy with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My husband and I decided to spend New Year's Eve and New Year's Day in a cabin, far away from the city and with our little dog. This was the perfect place! Just 2 hours away from the Twin Cities.
We got the "stay 2 nights get the 3rd for free". We were afraid we were going to get bored, but in the end we didn't want to go back home, so many things to do. If you like hiking there are about 10-15 different trails to explore. The shortest one takes about 45 minutes to hike. This place is huge! If you like skiing, there are trails for that purpose, too. Kids (and grown ups) can have fun with tubing.
The cabin was cozy, right next to the lake. There are few games in it, and a puzzle, which I couldn't finish. The place gets very warm if you turn on the fireplace that gives a romantic ambience. There is a full kitchen with almost everything you need (no cutting board). If you'd like to enjoy a glass of wine, you need to bring your own corkscrew or bottle opener. There is a TV, but no DVD player. Wireless internet is available.
If you are looking for a place where you need to relax alone, or with family, or friends. this is the place!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Heartwood Retreat is located about 10 miles from the nearest community--a beautiful setting on a lake. Staff people are friendly and accommodating. I asked to upgrade from 2 queens to a king and was told that would cost $40. more/night. I declined. Room was so-so with no fridge or microwave. There is a microwave in the common room down the hall. The room had a nice little patio overlooking the lake. Because Heartwood caters so many big events like conferences, weddings, etc., the restaurant has a limited menu. The food is excellent but there isn't a lot to choose from. The biggest drawback to the restaurant is its location. We were stunned to find out that it was 1.4 miles from our room, down a road that was difficult to find and follow in the dark. On our way back, we got lost and 2 other cars trying to find it got lost also. We ended up following each other around the back roads. Earlier in the year when it stays light longer, this might not be a problem. In December it is. There are wonderful activities for families and youngsters--just not handy for oldsters.

Room Tip: If you plan to eat at the restaurant in the evening, ask for a room in a building close to it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

I went to the Heartwood on a recommendation from a friend who stayed there. I wanted to get away from the "rat race" for a couple of days, just me and my dog. I requested a remote cabin away from the main lodge. It was very nice and clean. The first morning I woke up, let my dog out and locked myself out of the cabin! Luckily the maintenance man came and let me back in. Then an hour later I realized I had locked my keys in the car! I haven't been locked out of anything in many many years but this happened twice when I was up north for a "relaxing" couple if days. Anyway, the staff at Heartwood were all so wonderful from the maintenance men to the front desk and management!! They tried to help me get my keys from the car but the car was truly theft-proof. Then another one of the maintenance men gave me a ride to Spooner to get another key made (which ultimately didn't work because the wrong key blank was used and wouldn't fit into the key hole!!).

The manager offered to comp me a dinner and even have it delivered to my door!! They went way beyond every expectation especially since my problems were all my own doing, no fault of the Heartwood AT ALL!!

I would highly recommend the Heartwood. Beautiful resort, reasonably priced, many hiking trails and fantastic service!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We recently spent Friday and Saturday night here. This place has a 90 year history, but only in the past few years have they started marketing themselves. It is several miles from the main road, on gravel, and we were not sure where we were going in the dark. We checked in, and the next morning, we were stunned at how beautiful the place was. There is a variety of accommodations--lodge rooms with microwave and frig, duplexes, and cabins. They even allow dogs in one type of accommodations. We noticed a swimming beach, volleyball and tennis courts, and lots of hiking trails. On Saturday night, we ate at their on-site restaurant (limited hours during the off-season) and the meal was wonderful. This would be a great place for a company retreat or conference.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We spent a weekend here and were thrilled with the accommodations and service. We had a spacious and clean room that had a cute balcony looking out over the property. other friends had a nice cabin. there are cozy rooms to sit in away from your room that make you feel like you are at home sitting in front of a fire. A beautiful property that is very secluded and beautiful, we found it a nice place to go to get away from everything. Great food and beverages. Would love to come back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat

Address: N10884 Hoinville Road, Trego, WI 54888
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Trego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Trego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in 700 acres of breathtaking natural woodlands, Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat is the perfect destination for discovering the beauty of Northwestern Wisconsin while enjoying the inviting accommodations of our wilderness paradise. With two private lakes and the nationally protected Namekagon River, Heartwood’s pristine setting provides the ideal environment for a relaxing getaway, family-fun vacation, or a group retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and TravelClick so you can book your Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat Hotel Trego
Heartwood Conference Center And Retreat

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.