We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great smoked ribs!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Billy Bob's Sports Bar & Grill

Billy Bob's Sports Bar & Grill
N12025 County Hwy L, Tomahawk, WI 54487
7154534984
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 35 Restaurants in Tomahawk
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Rhinelander,WI
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great smoked ribs!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

This Northwoods bar and grill specializes in smoked ribs and chicken only during summer on Thursday nights. Get there early as they often run out. Ribs are meaty and tasty. Well worth a drive!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    12
    1
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
bloomington, IL
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Good Bar Fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We went to Billy Bob's for lunch. The knotty pine/sports bar decor and atmosphere in the bar was very nice and the service was quick and friendly. I ordered the special grilled chicken plate that came with cottage cheese and fruit (melon, grapes, a strawberry). There are several choices for those watching various diets, not everything is fried, which is unusual for bar dining. The chicken breast was very moist and juicy. My husband ordered the Poor Boy Pork. There are many sides to choose from and he chose baked beans and french fries. Of course, I shared my husband's food. He said the pork was a little too spicey for him, but he prefers things rather bland. The fries were good, but way too salty and the baked beans were the usual. It was a nice bar to eat lunch. The food was not over-the-top fantastic, but adequate and tasty for bar food. Billy Bob's draws a large crowd in the evenings on weekends. Give it a try!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DFW
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great casual hangout”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This place is a great casual hangout. Good food selections for breakfast lunch and dinner. Reasonable prices, and nice casual atmosphere. Highly recommend it as I have visited it several times in the past while snowmobiling in the northwoods, and just recently on a summer family reunion week. Good year around.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We love going to Billy Bobs for pizza and we can walk from our cabin rental!

Kid friendly. They will deliver too..

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomahawk, WI
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“SLOW, Mediocre food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

A popular local bar but don't see the attraction! Must be the TV's! Service is horribly slow - you wait forever for your check unless you're there for lunch on a weekday. Food is on the greasy side and average at best although they have good salads. Pizza is OK - they will make any pizza you want even if it's not on the menu. I only go there when I'm with a group and am outnumbered - my husband refuses to go. There are so many better restaurants/bars in the northwoods!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Billy Bob's Sports Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Billy Bob's Sports Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Billy Bob's Sports Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.