We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like coming home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lark Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tomah
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lark Inn
Save
You added Lark Inn to your Saves list
229 N. Superior, Tomah, WI 54660   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Tomah
Elizabeth, CO
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Like coming home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We stayed in the cabins and they are really charming. I love the extra heat in the bathrooms, and having fridge etc in the room. Easy parking, private, right in town. We had stayed once about 19 years ago and same owners I think. Clean, nicely kept property. I had the best night of sleep of our whole road trip.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    18
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
26
8
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

The staff was very accomodating and friendly....after a long travel day check in was expertly handled and fast.

Room was excellent as was the mini breakfast.

Would definately stay here again if in Tomah

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We had a wedding to attend in Tomah on Saturday and The Lark Inn gave us our room early so we could get dressed for it. This was really nice after an almost 3 hour drive with a two-year-old. We needed to have the time to get ready. We booked 2 rooms (my parents came too) and ended up getting another last-minute for my cousin. We got the "Heritage rooms" which are small, but clean and had everything we needed. The continental breakfast was good too.

Room Tip: There are a variety of cabins and room styles to choose from.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

I've stayed at the Lark Inn many times over the last decade or so. It is the most reasonably priced, cleanest place in Tomah, in my opinion. If you want a quiet family owned clean place to stay without the hype of other places near the Interstate this is the place.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

The Lark Inn is family owned and proud of it. There are homemade quilts on the beds and, at least in the room we stayed in, on the wall, too. Our room had two double beds and two big upholstered armchairs and a large TV - but not a flat screen. We picked out a free DVD to watch from their collection and could have paid a dollar or two to rent a more recent one. We also had a small fridge and a microwave along with an extra sink and cabinets where we could have stored some kitchen utensils, if we'd wanted. The Inn consists of two long rows of motel units and what might have been the family residence, now with rooms available to rent. Our room was a bit shabby but clean and cozy, and the price was right. There is a little general store with tiny cafe and gas station, so you can get basic supplies if you're on a camping or hiking or hunting trip. The continental breakfast included in the room rental was very basic and not very appealing or tasty, our only complaint. The owners and staff are super friendly.

Room Tip: All rooms are off the Main Street leading into Tomah and pretty quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

For the past 15 years we have made regular trips through Tomah. Years ago we discovered the Lark Inn. We were initially attracted by the looks of the buildings and grounds, but once we stayed we discovered that was just the beginning. We found folks there who really want you to have a great experience, and go out of their way to see that it happens. We have stayed in the cabins, and in each kind of room, and were never disappointed with the accomodations. When my friend got sick in the middle of the night, they called a friend in the local hospital emergency room to ask what medicine she should take. They know me now when I call for a reservation, and there is always a warm welcome. The General Store is handy, and the breakfast is good--especially the homemade sweet rolls! It is not located at the interstate exit, but well worth the short drive toward town.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We only stayed one night on the way home so came in late and it was great to be able to buy milk and cookies at the store right there as well. My husband is originally from Tomah so it was fun to take walk at the Park just down the road. We would definitely stay there again if we will be in that area overnight.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lark Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lark Inn

Address: 229 N. Superior, Tomah, WI 54660
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Tomah
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Tomah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Inn gives you everything you'd have at home, with the exception of a FREE 1000+ DVD Library with In-Room DVD Players. Yes! All movies are free unlike Pay Per Views in other motels. A family owned Inn since 1978 with a reputation of cleanliness and down home hospitality. As our reviews reflect, we are a 'diamond in the rough'. Microwaves and refrigerators in ALL our rooms. All of our Condos have a full kitchen with living rooms and multiple flat panel tv's and dvd players. Stay with us and let us show you the difference from the 'chains'. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lark Hotel Tomah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lark Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.