We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homey!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lark Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tomah
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lark Inn
Save
You added Lark Inn to your Saves list
229 N. Superior, Tomah, WI 54660   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
MOTORCOACH SPECIALS!
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Tomah
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Homey!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I needed a room for one-night driving from Minnesota to Wisconsin and the hotel chains I normally use all had sold-out. My last minute option was to check tripadvisor.com and this motel had excellent reviews. And it certainly lived up to expectations. Homey room with quilts and very friendly service. Breakfast was basic and in connection with the little service station and supermarket. The room was small. The price however was also very cheap. I decided to fill gas on my car, just to let them earn some more money and I used more money on gas than the room including breakfast! As I single female traveller, it was nice they had a phone number for emergencies and the family seems to live just next to the motel. It felt very safe.
I can certainly recommend this hotel, when you need a cheap and good accomodation in Tomah.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Larkin_Family, Owner at Lark Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
It is always nice to hear that a single female traveler felt safe staying at Lark Inn. Our property is known for being a quiet, well run inn with respectable clientele and many repeat guests. It is not unusual for us to host people traveling alone and we’ve heard that same comment from several others over the years. Please be assured that your safety is a top priority at Lark Inn. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to prove it!

Sharon Larkin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    19
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
31
28
8
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The hotel has multiple options for accommodations including individual cabins. We stayed in the regular rooms with two queens, a kitchenette and full bath. The room was decorated like a great aunt's Victorian home. The check in provided two free dvds for our stay. It was a nice touch. The room was clean, the free breakfast of bagels, fruit, yogurt, coffee and oatmeal worked well. The check in and out process was really pleasant.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Larkin_Family, Owner at Lark Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
I’d like to say that many of the personal touches were my great aunts, but that wouldn’t be the truth. The truth is, we have collected many of the antique pictures that adorn the walls of the rooms over the years. I particularly enjoy the warmth and charm of Victorian and country décor and felt it was a great choice to make our guests feel at home. We are pleased that you thought so as well and enjoyed your stay with us.

Sharon Larkin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Superior, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

You've heard the saying "Happy as a Lark"? Truly, it was the feeling and comfort we had staying at the Lark Inn. It's special---homey and unique. It's the kind of place where you'll want to spend some of your time just relaxing, especially on the country porches. The employees are so welcoming, helpful and fun to visit with. It's conveniently close to the Amtrak train station in case you're doing some travel by train. We definitely will go back and recommend this to our family and friends.

Room Tip: Lower rooms with country porches are a plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Larkin_Family, Owner at Lark Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
When we travel, we always enjoy finding a motel where we can park in front of our room. Being able to sit outside the room and enjoy the fresh air is also a bonus. I hope that you will be able to return sometime when the weather is more conducive for just that. Many of our guests enjoy the country porches and the gazebo in the summer months. Thank you for the nice review of our property.

Sharon Larkin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deocrah, Iowa
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in one of the "log" cabins and it was so cute and comfortable. The staff is incredibly helpful, and the Lark is just a sweet place. Cute cabin decor, easy access to amenities, and free movie rentals! Stay here instead of a faceless chain! You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Larkin_Family, Owner at Lark Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Lark Inn for your traveling needs and for assuring other travelers that they won’t be disappointed. Meeting your needs and providing a clean, quiet place to rest has been our goal for over thirty-five years. Our wonderful staff shares our concerns and takes pride in our property. Many on our staff have been with us over twenty years and they recognize and call several of our repeat guests by name. We all look forward to their next stay at Lark Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed here on February 13, and were so happy with our choice. We had one of the smallest rooms, with a queen size bed, it was comfy and cozy and met our needs. The bed was extremely comfortable, the water pressure in the shower was amazing. The price was so reasonable and included a delicious continental breakfast with the best cinnamon rolls you will find anywhere. The ladies at the desk are sweet and helpful. It is family owned and so much nicer than the chains!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Larkin_Family, Owner at Lark Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
What a kind review! Thank you so much for writing. You mentioned the amazing water pressure. That is a comment that we hear from a good number of our guests. There is nothing better than a good night’s sleep and an invigorating shower in the morning and the Lark Inn provides both. We are also happy that you enjoyed our complimentary continental breakfast with our homemade cinnamon rolls. Our morning staff enjoys a visit with each guest before they head out on their travels. Thank you for staying with us and for assuring others that our inn is a great place to spend a night.

Sharon Larkin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockport, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I have stayed at the Lark Inn 3 times now and won't stay anywhere else the next time I go to Tomah! The ladies at the front are always so helpful and freindly. The rooms are always very clean and comfortable. I don't know why anybody would want to stay in one of those big chains up at the interstate intersection, for the same price or less they could stay so much more comfortably at the Lark Inn and get such freindly service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Larkin_Family, Owner at Lark Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
I am so pleased to read that you have returned to the Lark Inn three times now. Repeat guests, like you, become “family” and we look forward to their every visit. Thank you for sharing your thoughts with others who rely on Trip Advisor for good recommendations. When we travel, we look for reviews such as yours to assure us we will get a clean room, friendly staff and pay a reasonable price.

Sharon Larkin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Skip the chains at the interstate intersection, drive the half mile or so into town on Superior and find this travelers perfect spot on the left just before the RR tracks. You won't believe the amenities you get for the same or lower price. Stayed here for 2 or 3 days on an annual trip to town for the last 3 years; they remembered me each time and treated me like a family friend. It's not often that you can call for a reservation and have the "clerk" say "hello Larry, do you want the same room you had last year?" Free movies in the convenience store for your room's dvd player, and they will even fill your cooler with ice. Let me make this a double plug, don't miss the TeePee restaurant another mile or so into town on the left. GREAT steaks, seafood and whatever; been in town forever; and don't bother to ask for a double from the bar, they'll say "honey, we pour family style here".

Room Tip: I have only stayed in the multi-bed suites toward the front on the convenience store side. They are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Larkin_Family, Owner at Lark Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Wow! What a kind and informative review. Thank you so much for all the good things you had to say about Lark Inn. We enjoy having you as our repeat guest as much as you enjoy your stay each time. We DO try to provide every amenity that we would like whenever we travel. Being an independent property, we are able to decide what we will provide and how we will decorate our rooms and we take much pride in doing so. Over the past thirty five years, many chains have knocked on our doors asking us to pick up their name, yet we remain independent. Thank you for putting your trust in us!

Sharon Larkin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lark Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lark Inn

Address: 229 N. Superior, Tomah, WI 54660
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Tomah
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Tomah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Inn gives you everything you'd have at home, with the exception of a FREE 1000+ DVD Library with In-Room DVD Players. Yes! All movies are free unlike Pay Per Views in other motels. A family owned Inn since 1978 with a reputation of cleanliness and down home hospitality. As our reviews reflect, we are a 'diamond in the rough'. Microwaves and refrigerators in ALL our rooms. All of our Condos have a full kitchen with living rooms and multiple flat panel tv's and dvd players. Stay with us and let us show you the difference from the 'chains'. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lark Hotel Tomah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lark Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.