We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place walls a little thin” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cranberry Country Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Cranberry Country Lodge to your Saves list
Cranberry Country Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   319 Wittig Road, Tomah, WI 54660   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Tomah
Chicago area
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice place walls a little thin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Great place for the family on site pool and passes to another waterpark. Overall nice place to stay staff very friendly. Night time was a little noisy with our neighbors. Would stay here again mainly because of the staff and value.

Room Tip: Get the Blue Heron Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    46
    19
    14
    10
See reviews for
65
17
4
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Onalaska, Wisconsin
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We took our three kids here and had a pretty good time. It was less chaotic than Wisconsin Dells and had a lot of the same water park options, just on a smaller scale. We stayed in the Kids Deluxe Suite - The room was a little small, four of us shared one bedroom. Our oldest slept on a futon in the other room. I liked having the full fridge and microwave so we could have snacks and juice on hand. The hotel was clean, and it was close to the movie theater when we needed a break from the pool. Next time I would bring friends for my teenage boys, but then we would definitely need another room. Overall it was a good value for a family weekend away.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champlin, MN
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We have stayed at this property twice and their sister property (3 Bears) twice and prefer this hotel over the other. This review combines Fall 2012 and Spring 2013 stays.

Overall, this is a fantastic hotel and much better than it conveys through their website.

GOOD
- Customer service is spectacular, easily 5 stars. Front desk is fast, friendly and accommodating.
- I have stayed when they were at half capacity and mostly full capacity and it still is pretty quiet for a family hotel
- The sister property has the nicer of the pools but this one is still supremely better than a regular hotel pool. Volleyball, basketball, toddler/big kid/adult slides, and wide stairs to get in or out
- Comes with free breakfast (cereal, fruit, pastries, make your own waffles, and starbucks)
- The SHC suite is big with plenty of room, a separate master, whirlpool tub, 2 flat screen TVs, full size frig, microwave, futon, dining table with 4 chairs, and a full closet with door. I also like that you can access the bathroom from both the main room and the bedroom.
- WIFI is FREE!
- Waterpark passes are included with the room
- We spoke directly to the manager the first time to discuss our unique family needs and he was familiar with each type of room, asked great questions, and ended up suggesting the perfect room. Wish I could remember his name but everyone at the front desk is helpful
- Farthest rooms are still a quick walk to the front desk & waterpark
- Waterpark has TONS of tables and chairs and a small snack type restaurant where you can also get beer and drinks
- The restaurant has an iTunes jukebox, a couple slot machines, and friendly servers

BAD (some of these are just my preference)
- The whirlpool is in the bedroom and I personally would rather have it in the bathroom
- There isn't a separate tub from the whirlpool, just a shower.
- I would love to have hooks to hang up wet suits and towels
- No gift shop
- The restaurant food is inexpensive but hit or miss
- The breakfast area is slightly confined. Go early if you have small children or if the hotel is busy.

UGLY
- The only thing that I really dislike about the hotel is the SHC suites' king bed. Its pushed all the way to the wall and it is hard to get in and out of bed if you come to bed after the other person has went to sleep. The bed should have space on both sides to get in and out. The mattress is also old and I rolled into the middle all night.

Room Tip: Stay in a suite with a kitchen and bring your own food. We spend about 60.00 for 2 adults and 2 kids...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Where do I start....on the outside it looks cute but on the inside its a neglected mess!!! First off, hallway carpet was gross and when walking on it, it feels like you're going to cave into the floor below you. Then when we got to our room, which was the blue heron suite, you could barely move in the bedroom part because its so tight. The carpet was dirty and disgusting, the bathroom floor looked and felt like it hadn't been washed in weeks, our bathroom fan didn't work, I found hair and cheetos on my bedspread and had to ask for a new one, when we went to use the phone, my ear stuck to it!! Yuk!!! The futon was nasty and looks like its never been cleaned, and then to top it off, I dropped something behind the dresser and when I went to get it I found a pair of someone else's dirty underwear behind there!!!!! DISGUSTING!!!! Plus, we got locked out of our room everyday and had to keep getting new keys made which was very inconvenient!! We will never ever stay in this gross place again. It is not being maintained at all and its super dirty!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My family of 4 stayed at the Cranberry Country Lodge the Saturday evening before Easter, 2013. The online reservation was simple and we knew exactly what room we would have. The pictures do not do justice to the room. In addition to the sleeping area (2 queen beds) there was a small sitting area with futon (that folded out to a double/queen bed) with it's own TV, refrigerator and microwave. The furniture is heavy "cottage style" and quite attractive and solid! The sleeping room was a little cramped (one bed had virtually no aisle space between it and the wall.) The pool (a small water park) was quite nice (4-5 pools including a large hot-tub pool.) It was well kept with bathrooms and poolside towels available. The breakfast was very complete including everything from hard boiled eggs to make-your-own waffles to cereal, bagels and pastries. They served Starbuck's coffee (always available.) The bonus was that the price of the room also included passes for all guests to the Three Bears water park complex (in Warrens, some 8 - 10 miles further north.) This is a very large indoor & outdoor park with plenty of fun for both kids and adults. We were able to get our Three Bears passes at 9:00 and spend the day at the waterpark before check-in at the hotel. Overall a very nice facility and exceptional value.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor of the East wing (I think) are a little difficult to get to in that the se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eleva
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We have stayed at Cranberry Lodge in the past, but it has gone down hill since our last stay. We found our room with dirty mirrors that had things smeared on them. The door handle was covered in chocolate and I had to clean prior to being able to touch it. The vending machines were out of every selection we tried. The pool area was dirty. The drains were all plugged around the pool area so there were puddles of water laying where ever you walked. What a great place for bacteria to grow! There were towels laying in the water puddles and you could surely tell this area hadn't been cleaned in a while. Not very well cared for and it shows. We were very disappointed! A very nice motel and being let go!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Cranberry Country Lodge. We stayed two nights. Several of our family members also stayed at the hotel for my cousin's wedding, which was also at the hotel. I can't say enough about how positive, professional, and helpful the staff members were. We loved gathering around the fireplace in the lounge and talking with family members we hadn't seen in a while. They served a nice breakfast and the rooms were clean and comfortable. We also enjoyed the pool and hot tub. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cranberry Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranberry Country Lodge

Address: 319 Wittig Road, Tomah, WI 54660
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Tomah
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Tomah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cranberry Country Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend a relaxing weekend at Cranberry Country Lodge in scenic Tomah, Wisconsin where you'll enjoy deluxe suites, meeting space, an indoor water park, and getaway packages in the heart of Cranberry Country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your Cranberry Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranberry Country Hotel Tomah
Cranberry Country Tomah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cranberry Country Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.