We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seafood Bonanza” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Victoria Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Victoria Inn to your Saves list
The Victoria Inn
Park Road, Holkham, Wells-next-the-Sea NR23 1RG, England (Formerly The Victoria Hotel at Holkham)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holkham
richierichworld
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Seafood Bonanza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Our trip to the Holkham beach lead us to this quaint pub, perfectly located opposite the Holkham beach and on the entrance to the park. One can't really miss this pub as its grandeur front and its elegant presence on the estate commands a visit to sample its delicacies.

Well after spending a good day at the beach we were ravenous for some hearty grub. Our visit was on sunday and therefore the pub was having a set menu predominantly seafood with a hint of Englishness. There was a shack outside the pub for outdoor lite lunches.

We tried locally sourced fish and chips and crab sandwich with garlic. The produce were fresh and it tasted gorgeous, the chips were prefectly shaped and chunky just the way it should be. There were other guests too and they all were tucking delicious seafood.

I have mentioned in my previous pub reviews that some of the pubs are trying to hard with intercontinental style menu but forget that our country can produce delicate flavours with locally sourced produce. The menu at the Victoria Inn was inspirational and definitely one where they could perhaps lead other pubs in their direction.

Importantly will I be back here? Definitely with shadow of a doubt... Its good to see the menu you guys have produced. 5 stars for their efforts and their service.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben H, Manager at The Victoria Inn, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
It’s fair to say that a great deal of time and effort went into the repositioning of the Victoria and managing that change has not been without it’s challenges which makes it all the more rewarding to read a review like this one from someone who clearly understands and appreciates all the hard work that has been put in by the Vic team. Thank you for your kind words, we all hope to welcome you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    38
    38
    16
    10
See reviews for
33
88
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I am a travel and food writer and had only previously had coffee here - which was very good and we loved the ambiance and the way the place was designed with a nice outside area with very pleasant staff only too pleased to assist you in any way. We came back on Sunday 13th July for lunch. However, I thought the food was overpriced; standard of roast dinner was poor with tough meat and cold undercooked greens and roast potatoes like they should never have been such, in the first place. We observed other diners wrapping up the at for their dogs because of the unpleasant tough meat being inedible. The fish and chips dish was good; but no mushy peas and just what fish was this? I It had 'pink' areas and another table nearby complained to each other about their loster dishes being not good? What exactly was going on here? I do not mind paying a premium for what might be termed as a pub lunch, but I really do resent paying for substandard food. We did not complain at the time because we were with friends and it would have spoiled the day. I do expect this review to be taken as a positive criticism in the sense that it is based on an observational fact, rather as a negative put-down. We may well be very happy to return, but only if we get a reassurance from the management that this kind of thing will never happen again. Thank you for your attention.

Room Tip: I only know that the rooms are good, generally.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben H, Manager at The Victoria Inn, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
I am sorry to read that your recent visit did not live up to your previous experience, please be assured that your feedback is received in the positive manner intended and that it will be used to improve upon your experience. Thank you for taking the time to share your findings with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We visited for Sunday lunch as it was my birthday. Average experience. We were seated, as a couple, next to a table of 20. This meant all furniture around us had been moved, looked and felt odd. Booked over a month earlier so a table in the conservatory would have been nicer. Haddock chowder starter great, venison sausage roll bit dry, crab salad lovely but bacon steak was a second choice as told we couldn't have fish n chips as no fryers - only told fyers not working after being seated and ordering and starting our wine. Strange then when the table by us got fish n chips half hour later........ Overall an ok meal, so try if your nearby, but didn't feel whole lunch experience was worth what we paid and not a special birthday experience.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben H, Manager at The Victoria Inn, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to the Victoria.
I am sorry to read that the table configuration detracted from your experience should you decide to visit us again in the future if you would like to specify your seating preference when booking we will of course do all we can to accommodate your requirements.
Unfortunately on the day of your visit we had an fault occur with our fryer, our catering engineer was on another call locally when we reported the fault to him but was unable to give us an accurate time to be with us or indeed if he would be able to rectify the fault, as it transpired he was with us in good time and quickly fixed the fault which enabled us to resume serving fish & chips reasonably quickly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We booked for 1 night recently at The Victoria Inn and had quite the most enjoyable brief stay there. We cannot fault any aspect of this establishment - it was intimate, warm and welcoming, with such a pleasant overall atmosphere. The staff there were all helpful, courteous, yet friendly but thoroughly professional too. The room was very special - beautifully decorated and furnished, as were all interiors of the Inn. We dined and had an excellent meal there that evening and, surprisingly, they even helped us celebrate my husband's birthday with a complimentary beer for him, which he had ordered and large candle on his chosen dessert! Everyone went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. We loved it and can't wait to return - for longer next time!

Room Tip: Can recommend Room 2 but am sure others are equally attractive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben H, Manager at The Victoria Inn, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for a great review, I am delighted that you enjoyed all that we have offer at the Victoria and will be sure to share your kind words with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We spent a brilliant Saturday evening in the lovely sunshine at the Victoria. The bar menu was delicious, substantial, and not over priced and service was prompt. Our bottle of wine was corked, however the staff were very kind and helpful in replacing this immediately. Great supper followed by a [badly played] game of darts and a relaxed atmosphere made for a super sunny Saturday - I would highly recommend this pub to any passer by!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben H, Manager at The Victoria Inn, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Great to hear that you enjoyed your evening with us, I am sure your darts can’t have been as bad as some we have seen, repairing and painting the wall by the board is certainly keeping our maintenance man busy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

I stayed here for the weekend for my birthday, what a great place. We had a room at the front where the views were fantastic and the beds really comfortable . Food in the restaurant was excellent my steak was the best I have ever had cooked to perfection, Staff were very helpful and attentive nothing was too much trouble for them. I will definitely be returning.
Thank you to everyone at the vic that made my birthday a really special one.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben H, Manager at The Victoria Inn, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your birthday weekend, I am delighted that the team were able to contribute so positively to your day.

Our very best wishes & a belated HAPPY BIRTHDAY from us all
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Took someone here to lunch today,wanted it to be a special thank you to them. Serve poor - we never did get the water we asked for. Flies buzzing round dining room. Starters OK mine the pigeon very meagre. The main appalling , watery stock with a few rank stalks of cauliflower a bit of rocket was called I think cauliflower and leek au gratin. I think they forgot the leeks and the cheese Dire and expensive I was not in a position to complain at the time, but goodness me I won't be recommending this restaurant.to anyone.

Room Tip: Avoid the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben H, Manager at The Victoria Inn, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
I am sorry to read of your disappointments with the food and also that you were not in a position to complain at the time of your visit as we would of course have liked to have the opportunity to put things right for you. However thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback now to enable me to address the issues you have brought to my attention with the kitchen team.

Regrettably despite every effort from our pest controllers the presence of flies is inevitable in our location set between the mashes of the national nature reserve and the deer park of the Holkham Estate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Victoria Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Inn

Address: Park Road, Holkham, Wells-next-the-Sea NR23 1RG, England (Formerly The Victoria Hotel at Holkham)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Wells-next-the-Sea > Holkham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holkham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing at the gateway to Holkham and the National Nature Reserve, The Victoria is a classic English inn owned by the Coke family and managed by the Holkham Estate. There are ten elegant, indivually designed and stylish bedrooms, all with en-suite bathrooms. We are ready to welcome more guests in spring 2015 with the addition of a further ten bedrooms just across the road from The Victoria in one of the oldest buildings on the Holkham Estate: Ancient House. The building has been converted to provide ten additional bedrooms, including four spacious family room. The sympathetic refurbishment has retained many of the building's original features, combining authentic charm with luxurious modernity. The bar and dining rooms at The Vic offer a relaxed blend of style and comfort. We serve delicious locally sourced food, much of it grown and raised on the estate, with a bold emphasis on freshness, simplicity and value. Holkham has been a leading agricultural estate since the 1800's when Thomas William Coke bought the site and the young Queen Victoria elevated him to the peerage in recognition of his contribution to farming in 1837. The name of the proposed new inn must have been inevitable when it opened its doors in 1838. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Victoria Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Victoria At Holkham Hotel Wells-Next-The-Sea
Victoria At Holkham Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Victoria Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.