We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Breakfast in beautiful surroundings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Victoria Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Victoria Inn to your Saves list
The Victoria Inn
Park Road, Holkham, Wells-next-the-Sea NR23 1RG, England (Formerly The Victoria Hotel at Holkham)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holkham
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely Breakfast in beautiful surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Stopped off at the Victoria before embarking on a walk along Holkham beach. Meet by very friendly staff and seated in the wonderful bar area near a large roaring fire. We both had the full English Breakfast which was excellent.

Room Tip: We only went for breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurane H, Public Relations Manager at The Victoria Inn, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Breakfast, followed by a walk on Holkham Beach,that sounds like a perfect combination! Thank you for posting your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    38
    38
    16
    10
See reviews for
33
87
3
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Had such a brilliant fun time here.

Having booked for a weekend visit to Holkham Hall and Beach, the Victoria Inn is ideally perched on the entrance to the estate yet delivers so much more than mere convenience, and all wrapped up in a delightfully understated history-meets-luxury palette.

Highlights:
- Genuinely friendly and engaging team.
- Sumptuously modern country chic style
- Fabulous corner room with large windows & views
- Relaxed yet very professional and attentive service
- Engaging restaurant and good food
- Biscuit jar in the bedroom stocked full of my favourites!
- 10 mins walk to the best beach in Norfolk

Superb all round.

:)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurane H, Public Relations Manager at The Victoria Inn, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review The Victoria at Holkham and your 5 star rating. We appreciate your honest critique and the team will be really pleased to read your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed at the victoria a few years ago and felt that the decor was so old and tired that we wouldn't return until it had been refurbished!

So we returned mid september........the refurbishment is excellent......we feel that the victoria is back to the standard it should be!

The situation of this hotel is very special.....walk in one direction and you are on one of the most amazing beaches in england......walk in the other direction and you are in the wonderful deer park/grounds of holkham hall.

The staff were all welcoming, smiley and helpful........nothing was too much trouble. Dinner was good. Breakfast was excellent .

The reason i didnt give five stars.......the bedding! ......... pillows were truly dreadful and so uncomfortable. Duvet was equally as bad.....we felt as if we were laying under a pile of bricks it was so seriously heavy and lumpy!!
Cant help but feel the bedding was over looked when they did the refurb??!?!! (if management are reading this we were in room 1).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurane H, Public Relations Manager at The Victoria Inn, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on The Victoria and for your very positive comments about your stay with us and the refurbishment.

It would have been good to achieve the 5 star rating of course -The bedding was renewed as part of the refurbishment and as these items obviously require replacement at regular intervals we will of course take your feedback into consideration when this time comes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Constable, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

A wonderful place to stay. A short walk to Holkham Hall which is superb. The staff at the hotel are extremely friendly and helpful. The food is good but not exceptional. I marked the swimming pool as terrible.That's because there isn't one.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurane H, Public Relations Manager at The Victoria Inn, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for your recent review and for your positive comments on your stay at The Victoria, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay in this part of north Norfolk.
We haven't got round to building a swimming pool as you discovered - it goes without saying that we would never be able to match the warm, shallow pools of Holkham Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

We had eaten in the Victoria a few weeks prior to tis visit and were very pleased with the whole evening, food and service. So we decided to bring some friends and booked a table for three families with kids. A big table was offered and expectations were high. Sadly the soups were served pretty near to cold and as a number of us had ordered soup there was a collective groan across the table. They were taken back and reserved and we carried on despite the replacement soups still not being hot enough. This should be simple stuff and therefore disappoints on very basic level.Food and service was patchy throughout the second course. ....and nowhere near expectations considering that the restaurant wasnt particularly busy. They made us want to come back after the first visit but sadly haven't been able to deliver the consistency required to make people want to keep coming back. I would love to eat there regularly as we are in Wells a lot............please don't let the opportunity to get it right now slip away.......

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben H, Manager at The Victoria Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for your review, I am sorry to hear that both the quality of food and service fell below your expectations and the high standards we aspire to deliver on this occasion. Please be assured that we use all feedback constructively to improve the future customer experience.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Victoria in the future, and that you find a marked improvement on your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

My wife and I recently revisited the Victoria since the completed refurbishment. I was already fond of the old place so I was pleasantly surprised to find that the new Victoria is even better. The reworking has been done to a very high standard and sympathetically. The young staff are enthusiastic and welcoming. The standard of food in the restaurant is up to the high standard I've come to expect there. From the number of families with young children staying it would appear that it also works for them to. Overall a very enjoyable stay that i will be repeating. The staff are to be congratulated on the impeccable service they provided.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurane H, Public Relations Manager at The Victoria Inn, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your positive review on The Victoria. We hope you will visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

The Victoria Hotel used to be a beautiful, quirky, boho place. It felt like staying in an artistic friends house who had a passion for India. Tragically it has had a hideous refurb and now looks like any other boring chain hotel. Sadly everything else we loved about the Victoria has departed with the decor, friendly service, atmosphere, good food and the wonderful relaxed feeling of staying in a very comfortable private house - all gone.

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben H, Manager at The Victoria Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for your thoughts on our recent refurbishment, after the enormous amount of work that went into the refurbishment earlier this year it is disappointing to read that you found it to be hideous.

What is most disappointing however is to read that you felt that friendly service, atmosphere and good food had departed with the old decorations.
I would be most grateful if you could find the time to contact me to discuss what was lacking in these areas in order for us to improve upon your experience in the future and can be contacted at the Victoria on 01328 711008.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Ben Hunter-Watts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Victoria Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Inn

Address: Park Road, Holkham, Wells-next-the-Sea NR23 1RG, England (Formerly The Victoria Hotel at Holkham)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Wells-next-the-Sea > Holkham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holkham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing at the gateway to Holkham and the National Nature Reserve, The Victoria is a classic English inn owned by the Coke family and managed by the Holkham Estate. There are ten elegant, indivually designed and stylish bedrooms, all with en-suite bathrooms. We are ready to welcome more guests in spring 2015 with the addition of a further ten bedrooms just across the road from The Victoria in one of the oldest buildings on the Holkham Estate: Ancient House. The building has been converted to provide ten additional bedrooms, including four spacious family room. The sympathetic refurbishment has retained many of the building's original features, combining authentic charm with luxurious modernity. The bar and dining rooms at The Vic offer a relaxed blend of style and comfort. We serve delicious locally sourced food, much of it grown and raised on the estate, with a bold emphasis on freshness, simplicity and value. Holkham has been a leading agricultural estate since the 1800's when Thomas William Coke bought the site and the young Queen Victoria elevated him to the peerage in recognition of his contribution to farming in 1837. The name of the proposed new inn must have been inevitable when it opened its doors in 1838. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Victoria Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Victoria At Holkham Hotel Wells-Next-The-Sea
Victoria At Holkham Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Victoria Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.