We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hockey weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thirsty Pagan Brewing

Thirsty Pagan Brewing
1623 Broadway St, Superior, WI 54880-1616
(715) 394-2500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 79 Restaurants in Superior
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Brew Pub, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Hockey weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

This is the 3rd year our hockey team has gone to the Thirsty Pagan for a team dinner. We hve given them a week's notice of the day and time we plan on arriving and the owner has been very accomodating to our group. The pizza is wonderful and the beer is even better. This year there was a local band playing and the atmosphere was incredible.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    32
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fun AND Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Very fun for all ages! Great pizza and microbrews along with eclectic bands and a warm cream city brink interior make this a great go-to destination!

Eat local!
Note - they prefer cash but do accept credit ;-)

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Craft beer, incredible pizza, local music, and a hot pretzel with mustard sauce to die for.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

The title pretty well says it all. There is generally a seasonal beer choice or two, but my fave is still the derailed ale. The pizzas are loaded, so a medium goes a long way.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Superior, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
“The beer is back on top!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

For a long while I was down on the beer at TPB. Over the last six-to-nine months, I've sampled and enjoyed the new styles coming out, and now I can say I haven't had a bad beer from there since.

They are turning out tons of beers, making some exotic beers, and they are expanding their brewing system to be able to make EVEN MORE beer. Sure, you can still get the house beers like the Derailed (yum), the India Pagan Ale (double yum), but now they have fun beers that are delish like their sour beers. The Mumford 001 was to die for.

Duluth might get all the glamour for it's microbrew selection, but TPB is quietly rising to meet the challenge.

And oh yeah, the food is still top-notch. The swedish meatball pizza? It smelled incredible. The potato & bacon soup? Amaze-balls.

Lastly, there's the joint...they've rearranged the bar area in the past six months, so there's tons of room now. The staff is always friendly and willing to talk beer as well. When I was there on Saturday, the band that was playing even let a few local musicians who were having a pint join in. A very fun place.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metairie, Louisiana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best pizza and beer in Superior”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

For lunch we had an entree salad and a swedish meatball pizza with a couple of the house drafts. Both of the food options were solid and the beer was the best I've had in Superior-Duluth [I grew up there but left in 1996]. Service was friendly and the place is kid-friendly (our 6-month old was with us).

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thirsty Pagan Brewing also viewed

 

Been to Thirsty Pagan Brewing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thirsty Pagan Brewing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.