We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overpriced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Superior

Save Saved
You added Super 8 Superior to your Saves list
Super 8 Superior
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Superior
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4901 East 2nd Street, Hwy 2 & 53 East, Superior, WI 54880-4303   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in Superior
illinois
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

good service,everything clean as it should be. no real amennities breakfast was ok.no problems with the stay or the property ,just don't like to pay 135 a nite for the bare essentials.trucks firing up at 4am were a little irritating

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    37
    29
    8
    2
See reviews for
32
27
9
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed in the king size suite it was very nice. The room was clean and comfortable. Everyone on the staff was friendly and we especially liked a woman working there named Virginia she was helpful and very sweet. I would stay here again as well as recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Reserved a room for Saturday aug. 24 requested early check in. Arrived Saturday noon clerk did not see the early check in request but was able to accomidate us, the room was ready in 10 minutes. The room was clean, bathroom was very clean and staff was very friendly.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

On Aug. 21, while on road, reserved room for that evening. Got to motel who had no reservations. Got room, but paid higher rate than reservation promised. Found out that the reservations were for the previous night, already past, Aug. 20.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I chose this hotel for two reasons: It was the lowest priced hotel I could find in the Twin Ports area (prices are very high in the summer, especially on the weekends). It was also the first hotel you come to when you're driving west on Highway 2. I was coming in from a long drive, and I didn't want to struggle through the tangle trap of the I-35 or climb that hill in Duluth. This was a good, basic no-frills Super 8 that suited our needs. It's a small hotel, opposite the rail yards and facing a gas station. The room was clean and the breakfast was good. They have a waffle maker, which is always nice. The staff was small but very courteous and friendly. A half hour after we checked in, the manager called us to see if everything was okay (this has never happened before, in any hotel I've stayed in). I was also asked this when we checked out. Much to my surprise, our room had a tub big enough to stretch my very long legs in (this has become a rarity in most places I've stayed). This hotel is fine for an overnight stay, but it's miles away from most attractions in the Twin Ports area, which is something to consider if you're planning to stay in the area longer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

It's almost impossible to find a room in Duluth so this hotel is a great option since it's pretty close. We had king suite since it was only room available. Large clean room with couch and chair. Small breakfast area. Overall comfortable stay but kind of expensive for such an average hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here on our way north to Canada for a week of fishing. The location was great, right on our route North. The hotel is ok, clean room, ok bed, hot shower, simple continental breakfast. Overall it met our needs for a sleepover.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Super 8 Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Superior

Address: 4901 East 2nd Street, Hwy 2 & 53 East, Superior, WI 54880-4303
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Superior
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in Superior
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Superior 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Wyndham, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Super 8 Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Superior
Superior Super Eight
Superior Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Superior, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.