We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Economy Hotel, Clean and Friendly” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Superior Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Superior
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Superior Inn
Save
You added Superior Inn to your Saves list
525 Hammond Ave, Superior, WI 54880   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Superior
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Economy Hotel, Clean and Friendly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed here for Bayfront Blues Festival and it was easy getting over to Duluth quickly. The room was very clean, but the room decor is dated and worn. The rooms still use old locks and keys, but the staff are very friendly and accomodating. We checked in late with no difficulty, and they had hot coffee, fruit and muffins every morning. We have stayed here before and we will probably stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on First Floor to West seem to be newly renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay B, Owner at Superior Inn, responded to this review, November 15, 2014
Thank you for your nice comments. We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Best, Kay Biga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    12
    8
    8
    9
See reviews for
15
11
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We have stayed here many times over the past few years. The staff are friendly and accommodating. The rooms could use a bit of updating but they are always clean. They generally have good internet specials so a night or two stay doesn't cost an arm and leg. Will continue to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

July 17, 2013 Such mixed current reviews, we almost didn't keep our reservation. Halls had stained carpets but room was VERY clean but old décor. Bed comfy. OLD floral bedspread. Air conditioning was great. 3 patched holes at the back of tub...weird but very clean. Pool was great, hot tub WAY TOO HOT. Staff was casual and friendly. Great location for getting back to Duluth. Best burgers we ever had only 3 short blocks...Anchor Inn. Small and locals but awesome, cheap food! Online deal each month so we only paid $54/King. Breakfast was donuts, toast, coffee, juice. No smoke smell anywhere. Will stay again for the great price outside of Duluth! We usually stay in nicer places but this trip we took a $54 chance and was glad we did. If you see online price, ck website for monthly deals and they will lower the price!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuperiorInn, General Manager at Superior Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
I would like to thank you for your comments and your patronage. It is always nice to have the positive customer comments along with the areas that you think we need to improve.

I hope you stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Michelle Johnson, General Manager
Superior Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

The motel is old, linens threadbare, sheets popped off the mattress, and hallway dirty. Between barking dogs in the motel, loud people in the hallway, and patrons partying outside until 3 AM we were unable to sleep. Do not waste your money!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuperiorInn, General Manager at Superior Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Jean,

I would like to thank you for your comments, I have talked with our desk staff about patrolling the hallways and exterior of the building more frequently to solve any noise issues in a timely manner. I also spoke with our linen service this week in regards to your comments. I am sorry you were disappointed with your stay and would like to discuss it with you, please call me at 800-777-8599.

Sincerely,
Michelle Johnson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I stay here often, as the prices are most reasonable in the area. I also feel it is one of the cleanest hotels in the area. I feel the breakfast is more than enough and a lot more kid friendly than most. I feel the staff try very hard to meet each accommodation and give excellent customer service, They are always friendly, helpful and always a smile. The rooms are plenty big and always clean, and that is something I am huge about I have stayed here 30 plus times in the last year and never had a dirty room ! The pool is plenty big to enjoy yourself and always clean as well. The housekeeping staff is just as friendly and willing to help as well and will get you anything you need with in reason. For me the number one things I look for in a hotel is 1. Cleanliness 2. Price 3. Customer Service If you have awesome customer service they will do what they have too to make the stay right! I can honestly say they offer the best customer service I have ever seen in a hotel anywhere and I travel a lot! In my opinion love this hotel and you can't go wrong.

Room Tip: All the rooms are clean and nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Cities, MN
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

After pondering the good and bad reviews, we decided to take a chance. Overall, it was a mixed bag, but the negatives outweighed the positives.

Positives: The room was spacious for a budget property. The bathroom had recently been redone and was quite acceptable. The staff was efficient and friendly. The sheets and comforter seemed new(er). The WiFi worked well.

Negatives: TV had snowy picture. Conversation in next room carried through the wall. Fortunately, however, they went to bed at a decent hour. Then we awoke at 4 am with a strong smell of tobacco smoke, which definitely was not there when we checked in. Then at 5 am the guests above us got up and we could hear them walking. And they walked a LOT. Not sure if they were heavyweights, but every step was a very noticeable thump. Between the tobacco smell and the thumps, we couldn't get back to sleep. When we went to the front desk to check out, the whole hallway smelled heavily of tobacco.

We make 4 business trips per year to Duluth and were hoping for nice budget alternative to the prices in Duluth. But we were quite disappointed with the Superior Inn and our return is highly doubtful. The inability (or unwillingness) of the management to stop the smokers is a deal breaker.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I have stayed there off and on for almost 36 years. I have seen it soar and fall .Well the reports of falling are true once again ,which is a shame. There are a lot of staff who seem to be cleaning and doing up dates.The staff was helpful but they had no real control! We smelled smoke almost all the time even in our room.When we mentioned it they said they would fine those who were caught ! Well guess they need smoke police as soon as the sun goes down .The breakfast was a joke for the 2 days we were there.If you were intimidated by the looks of certain types people , u would leave.The beds were clean and comfy but the tiles in the bathroom grouts need to be clean,steam clean or replace carpets some furniture and hire real trades painters who are not blind. Not so long ago it was a good bang for your buck ,but not any more .Do not know if We will be back.When was the last time you had snow on a tv ? They seem to be doing repairs but not where they need it .Also there are no rules at the pool . Seems like they are filling the rooms any way they can . Maybe there is a sale in the future ? Too bad it was pretty good not so long agao.

Room Tip: Shop around ,if what you read does not bother you,then you will have a good stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay B, Owner at Superior Inn, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Tom -
My family has owned the Superior Inn for the past 30 years and we want to thank you for your patronage. I'm sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. The issue of smoking is one that concerns us. Wisconsin state law changed three years ago and smoking is not allowed on our property. Unfortunately there are guests who continue to smoke in the privacy of their rooms, even if they know they will be evicted and pay a $ 100 fine.

We are constantly updating our rooms with new drapes, new bedspreads, new mattresses. We just replaced all of the older televisions with 32" televisions within the past year. We just replaced two bathtubs within the last week and new carpet was just installed in the pool area.
A new energy efficient pool furnace was just installed in June.

The continental breakfast includes donuts, muffins, toast, bagels & cream cheese, fruit, oatmeal, orange juice and coffee or tea. Nothing has been taken away from the breakfast offerings in any way.

I did not see a comment card from you, but will try to call you to apologize in person. You can also reach me at (218) 390-6507.

Sincerely,
Kay Biga
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Superior Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Superior Inn

Address: 525 Hammond Ave, Superior, WI 54880
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Superior
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Superior
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Superior Inn is conveniently located just minutes away from Duluth and Superior attractions such as: Fairlawn, Great Lakes Aquarium, Spirit Mountain and Canal Park. We offer free high speed wireless internet access, free continental breakfast and a swimming pool, sauna and hot tub. 69 rooms. Internet specials and weekly rates available. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Superior Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.