We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outdated but clean” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Androy Hotel

Androy Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Superior
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Androy Hotel
Save
You added Androy Hotel to your Saves list
1213 Tower Ave, Superior, WI 54880   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Superior
M'saken, Tunisia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outdated but clean”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We made a trip to the "historic" Androy in July 14. My first clue that the hotel was probably on the bottom of everyones list was it was the only hotel with any rooms available. WALKING into the lobby I was not impressed as there is no AC. The front desk staff is very polite. Pros Cheap Clean walking distance to a ton of bars, bed was comfortable, room had a ceiling fan

Cons 13 inch tv with batteries taped in remote, Original sink and tub that they tried to paint wearing porcelain, housekeepers shut our AC off when cleaning room we were on 6th floor and room finally got cool many hours later, bedspread had cigarette holes in it, some patrons appeared to charge by the hour and come from the strip club accross the Street, restaurant is closed, you have to pay for a cup of coffee, parking lot is gravel and it seemed to be shady people hanging around.hotel has a 72 hour cancellation policy I assume this is because once people look at their rooms they want to cancel the rest of their stay

If you are a construction worker or just cheap place is perfect I doubt we will be back. we were calling other hotels to check availability for rooms after we checked in

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    6
    4
    0
    5
See reviews for
2
9
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We were told over the phone that the room was going to be wonderful as it was on a corner and would have a view. The view was of the parking lot of the strip club next door. The smell in the room was awful, like mixed sour vomit and cigarette smoke. A bottle of fabreeze couldn't cut through it. No control of how warm the room was. Elevator was broken. Holes in carpet, several cigarette holes in the dirty bed cover. Carpet had so many stains. The wood paneling on the wall failed to conseal the crumbling wall behind it as leaning against the headboard to watch TV resulted in the sound of plaster/chunks falling behind the paneling. No ice machines. Restaurant in the building was closed. The only plus was that the bed was not the worst I have slept on in a hotel room. Any 1920's charm that may have existed in the room has been destroyed by whatever "update" was last done circa 1970?

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Creek, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

I have been here for 15 minutes now, and for the $39/ night I paid I am quite pleased... being that my work paid $139/ night for a hotel in Duluth last night, that was not as clean as this Hotel ((I am one of those people that checks for stains, bedbugs, hair and everything else before I can sleep))...Very Pleased...I will update again in the morning

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis Park, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed at the Androy in August 2013. There is construction going on in the main street of Tower Avenue which is suppose to finish in October 2013. The rustic small town flavor will really be appealing once that is finished. We had a wonderful view from our window of Tower Avenue and it was like looking at an old movie town with the taverns, drug store and bank along with small shops. At the Androy the lobby has a lot of character with the lounge and restaurant attached. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. Watch out for the elevator though. Best to take the stairs. The rooms are not for anyone expecting extra's in their room. The bathroom has the original bathtubs from early years and the faucets leak, but that makes the experience fun.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel some years ago and are looking forward to staying her next year.
From the moment we entered you could just feel the history of this 1920's style hotel.
Many of the pampered people of today I am sure wouldn't find this enjoyable or on their list of hotels to stay at but if you like old nostalgic and historic structures that still offer service today than you will love this.

When we were there they served the best wild rice soup in their restaurant that we have ever eaten.

Room Tip: If you are the type of traveler that wants fancy and frills this is NOT for you. But we love it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear river, MN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I stayed at the Androy Hotel during the end of July , We arrived in town not knowing it was a event called tall ships , The entire town was booked even surrounding towns were booked. Eventually were guided to the Androy from another hotel, Arrived to find a huge inviting lobby little on the rustic side but overall clean and very acceptable. Checked in with Judy who was very friendly and helpful as to information regarding tall ships as well as local spots to see, We are from Deer river so we have been to the area before but she was able to give us stuff we did not know.
When arriving to our room we found it to be a little dated but very clean and quaint, The hotel also had a lounge bar which was great to enjoy a drink without even leaving the hotel followed by the Restaurant for dinner which we found out was open 24 hrs. The next morning we decided to just eat there again since we enjoyed it so much, This time we just ordered from our room and the nice girl delivered it to the room for us it was great. I now know that when we go to Duluth/Superior we will most definitely be staying at the Androy what we call a diamond in the ruff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RICE LAKE
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

When checking in you need to remind yourself of why you are staying here. It's the price and location! Leave your high expectations of cleanliness, comfort, and amenities in the car. The hotel will be sufficient for a short overnight stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Superior
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Bridgeview Motor Inn
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Superior
5.4 mi away
Super 8 Superior
Super 8 Superior
#1 of 10 in Superior
4.0 of 5 stars 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Barkers Island Inn
Barkers Island Inn
#4 of 10 in Superior
3.0 of 5 stars 123 reviews
4.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
3.5 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#4 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Androy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Androy Hotel

Address: 1213 Tower Ave, Superior, WI 54880
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Superior
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Superior
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 79

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Androy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.