We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff, but Dirty Sheets” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Barkers Island Inn

Save Saved
You added Barkers Island Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Barkers Island Inn
300 Marina Dr., Superior, WI 54880 (Formerly Country Hospitality Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 hotels in Superior
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Staff, but Dirty Sheets”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

The Barker's Island Inn is located literally on a an island near the shore of Lake Superior, in a dramatically beautiful location. Unfortunately, the hotel could use a bit more attention to housekeeping. Our room featured quite a few crumbs on the sheets and pillowcases, empty tiny shampoo bottles, and an empty Kleenex box. The Do Not Disturb sign was also missing, meaning we were awakened early by housekeeping. The staff was very courteous and changed the sheets immediately. Our stay included breakfast in the hotel restaurant, which was tasty, with quick, friendly service. Overall, the property looks quite dated, and the problem with the sheets concerned me, so I hesitate to recommend this hotel despite the great staff.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    22
    30
    18
    19
See reviews for
33
31
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bryant
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is an older building but the location is nice. We went to see the Tall ships and this was a very economical place to stay. We received discounts and free breakfast. The supper time in the hotel restraurant was not a pleasant experience---they were busy but I would recommend if you are there during a busy time to go elsewhere. The rooms are average but they have fridge in each room. One of the people in our party had trouble with a noisy fan. The staff seemed young but friendly. The free breakfast was great. Overall hotel stay was average.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

We were there 25 years ago, it was great. It seems to have outgrown it's services. Checkin left much to be desired, it appeared all staff was new & had no clue. The service in the dining room was none existent, a staff person apologized stating there was no kitchen manager. We will not go back.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Got to the room and it smelled of smoke even though it was a no smoking room. So we went to the front desk to ask what we could do and they said they had an air purifier but it was being used by another room. So we requested a fan to put in the window to get the smell out. They were very kind but when I went back to ask the status of the room they told us that they could not find any fans and that the air purifier was lost an there was nothing to do. We then requested a role away so we could fit all of are people in the other room and was told it would not fit. Over all it has only been one night but do not stay

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unionville, Michigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is an older building. Get a room on the second floor facing the lake and you can watch the sail boats and freighters. Room had a small window to see outside but was quite pleasant. No big screen TV. The pool was nice and the hot tub hot. The people were very nice and the food was great. Discount on meals and a free breakfast. Was very quiet.

Room Tip: Go for the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normal, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

we were on road trip with our fam and needed a place to stop. we tried 4 other hotels and no vacancy, so this place was recommended. For $99 the room was clean. This hotel does need some updating, but it was good for what we needed.

I know its not their fault but there was about 2000 may flies flying around the entry door. Really grossed me out. Most hotels in the area had the same problem.

I would recommend staying overnight, but not sure I would stay for an extended period.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

My wife and I had a four night stay here last week while vacationing in the Superior/Duluth area. Our room had a jacuzzi tub and faced the lake to the north. The room setup was nice with a little kitchen nook included.

The internet connectivity was terrible. They claim, and indeed do have 6 WIFI access points, none of which were reliable connections. The signals were so weak that never did all 6 even show up at the same time on the available connections screen. This one or that one would show briefly, just long enough to choose it and try to connect, only to watch it fail. Thinking that we were too far away, we took our device to the restaurant across from the front lobby but had no better result there. We mentioned this problem to the staff, and also overheard others in the hotel having the same frustration. The staff offered to "reset" their equipment but things did not improve. For most of our 4 day stay we were unable to connect at all: inexcusable in this day and age. If being connected to the internet is important then this is certainly not the place to stay.

The room was nice enough and the bed was ok. There was an old, smoky stench to our room that wasn't unbearable but not pleasant either. During our stay we saw two large dumpsters of old mattresses being hauled away and assumed that new ones had replaced them.

The island is a nice, quiet place to stay but is a bit isolating as there is really nothing else there but the hotel. The couple of meals that we had at the restaurant were tasty with adequate but unremarkable service.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barkers Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barkers Island Inn

Address: 300 Marina Dr., Superior, WI 54880 (Formerly Country Hospitality Inn)
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Superior
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 hotels in Superior
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barkers Island Inn is located on an actual island and features a hotel, restaurant, and conference center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Barkers Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barkers Island Hotel Superior
Barkers Island Superior

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barkers Island Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.