We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Barkers Island Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Barkers Island Inn to your Saves list
Barkers Island Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Marina Dr., Superior, WI 54880 (Formerly Country Hospitality Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Superior
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Got to the room and it smelled of smoke even though it was a no smoking room. So we went to the front desk to ask what we could do and they said they had an air purifier but it was being used by another room. So we requested a fan to put in the window to get the smell out. They were very kind but when I went back to ask the status of the room they told us that they could not find any fans and that the air purifier was lost an there was nothing to do. We then requested a role away so we could fit all of are people in the other room and was told it would not fit. Over all it has only been one night but do not stay

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timmyg5276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Unionville, Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is an older building. Get a room on the second floor facing the lake and you can watch the sail boats and freighters. Room had a small window to see outside but was quite pleasant. No big screen TV. The pool was nice and the hot tub hot. The people were very nice and the food was great. Discount on meals and a free breakfast. Was very quiet.

Room Tip: Go for the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trina42775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normal, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

we were on road trip with our fam and needed a place to stop. we tried 4 other hotels and no vacancy, so this place was recommended. For $99 the room was clean. This hotel does need some updating, but it was good for what we needed.

I know its not their fault but there was about 2000 may flies flying around the entry door. Really grossed me out. Most hotels in the area had the same problem.

I would recommend staying overnight, but not sure I would stay for an extended period.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

My wife and I had a four night stay here last week while vacationing in the Superior/Duluth area. Our room had a jacuzzi tub and faced the lake to the north. The room setup was nice with a little kitchen nook included.

The internet connectivity was terrible. They claim, and indeed do have 6 WIFI access points, none of which were reliable connections. The signals were so weak that never did all 6 even show up at the same time on the available connections screen. This one or that one would show briefly, just long enough to choose it and try to connect, only to watch it fail. Thinking that we were too far away, we took our device to the restaurant across from the front lobby but had no better result there. We mentioned this problem to the staff, and also overheard others in the hotel having the same frustration. The staff offered to "reset" their equipment but things did not improve. For most of our 4 day stay we were unable to connect at all: inexcusable in this day and age. If being connected to the internet is important then this is certainly not the place to stay.

The room was nice enough and the bed was ok. There was an old, smoky stench to our room that wasn't unbearable but not pleasant either. During our stay we saw two large dumpsters of old mattresses being hauled away and assumed that new ones had replaced them.

The island is a nice, quiet place to stay but is a bit isolating as there is really nothing else there but the hotel. The couple of meals that we had at the restaurant were tasty with adequate but unremarkable service.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dbam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Superior hotels

Chatan, Japan
Level Contributor
78 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

A great and friendly Hotel, rooms reasonable, dining had good food at a good price. Look for the rooms with a jacuzzi, you won't be disappointed. There was a good down home feel to this place presented professionally, hope we get to stay here again in the future.

Room Tip: room with the jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kurt I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mounds View, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed there one night over the fourth of July. The rooms were nice but are older. No flat screen TV, the shower head was from the 80's. The price was lower than the hotels in the area. We had a beautiful view of the lake from our room and the pool was very nice. The food was very good and not to bad of a price but they had no continental breakfast on Saturday or Sunday. Overall it was quiet and was comfortable and a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed two nights for a business conference. All in all OK. Rooms were dated, and for being out on the water, suprisingly nothing really to do. Staff was excellent and food was great as well, I just left with the feeling that something was missing. I found myself wishing I had stayed across the bridge in Duluth.

Room Tip: No real tip...rooms are set up very haphazardly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Superior
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Superior
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Bridgeview Motor Inn
4.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 231 reviews
3.8 mi away
Super 8 Superior
Super 8 Superior
#1 of 9 in Superior
4.0 of 5 stars 174 reviews
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barkers Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barkers Island Inn

Address: 300 Marina Dr., Superior, WI 54880 (Formerly Country Hospitality Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Superior
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Superior
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Barkers Island Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barkers Island Inn is located on an actual island and features a hotel, restaurant, and conference center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Barkers Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barkers Island Hotel Superior
Barkers Island Superior

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing