We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Diner Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gus's Diner

Gus's Diner
630 North Westmount Drive, Sun Prairie, WI
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 64 Restaurants in Sun Prairie
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“True Diner Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Gus's Diner is a true blast to the past! The music, pictures, and memories take you back to a simpler time. People sit and talk about the artifacts and pictures on the walls while listening to some great music from the 50's and 60's. The food....the food is the best ever! Everything on the menu is excellent and it makes it hard to choose something to eat! Gus's is one of the best places to eat in town and the proof is a packed parking lot!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    11
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Old Fashion Diner Experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We have been there six times in the last year for supper. Probably twice for breakfast.

Quick service with good food. Breakfast prices are really good and the quantity of food is a lot.
Supper meals are good, always ask for the special. Friday night fish is good, all you can eat or two pieces for a lower price.

Old fashion milk shakes and home made pies. Milk shake is thick and tasty. Pies are average to good. Prices reasonable, you won't go broke.

Great place for a fast meal and they do have carry out service. Nice menu selection. Lunch sandwiches are good size, too.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“We love Gus's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Neat, old-style diner. We've eaten here several times over the past few years, it's consistantly a good experience. The menu is extensive, the portions are quite generous, and the service has always been superb.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleton, Wisconsin
1 review
“Tip rip off DO NOT TRUST THIS BUSINESS”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Visited with my mother. She paid the tip with cash at the table. I paid at the counter with my debit card. Made the mistake of not making an "X" in the tip section of the signature slip. Signed the slip and went on my way. Checked my account later and saw that someone had written in a tip. So basically for a $13.28 total bill, my mom left $3.50 at the table and someone then helped themselves to an additional $4 tip written in on my signature slip! That's $7.50 tip on a $13.28 order! The food was not that great!
I called the restaurant and asked for the manager. The person answering the phone said "just a second" and I swear just came back on the line (the same guy). When I told him what happened, he claimed it was the fault of the machine! Really?!
Never going back!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, Illinois
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Amazing Biscuits and Gravy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stopped in on a Monday morning to get a good breakfast to power through a tough day ahead, and I wasn't disappointed. I ordered their biscuits and gravy, with two eggs, and hashbrowns. I was not disappointed. The eggs were done to perfection, the gravy had just the right amount of spice, and the biscuits were quite good. It was a very satisfying way to start the day. I highly recommend them as a great breakfast spot when in the Sun Prairie area.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gus's Diner also viewed

 

Been to Gus's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gus's Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.