We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food, good prices, HUGE portions” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gus's Diner

Gus's Diner
630 North Westmount Drive, Sun Prairie, WI
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 63 Restaurants in Sun Prairie
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Blue Mounds, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Delicious food, good prices, HUGE portions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

The atmosphere is fun and inviting, the decor is appropriate for the period, and the staff is very friendly and attentive. At first I thought the prices were a bit high, but then I looked at the enormous portions. (When we go back, we will be splitting entrees.) All but one of us (a ravenous soccer player) took half of our food home for another meal, so the value is very good. The restaurant isn't the easiest to find, sitting way out on the edge of town, but it's well worth seeking out. We will DEFINITELY be back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    10
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Poynette, Wisconsin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“I've never had a bad meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I've been here many many times, and the service is quick and the wait staff is very friendly. The diner is clean. You can't get a fresher salad anywhere. The food is excellent.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Bland”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Gus's is no fuss diner food that's fairly bland with nothing special or original to offer. Mostly it's problem is that it's uneven - sometimes the food is surprisingly good but sometimes it's really underwhelming, sometimes the service is great but sometimes it leaves a lot to be desired. The same applies to the ambiance - the original portion of the restaurant is cute and comfortable while the newer addition is cold and unfriendly.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Good Eatin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

I just moved to Sun Prairie and have passed Gus's many times but never actually ate there. One day I was in the mood for fast food and figured I could try something different and went there. I didn't expect much but was very pleased at how good not only the food was, but the service was extremely friendly, quick to bring out our food. I ate from the salad bar and was surprised at how fresh everything was, delicious! The desserts there are very good and will make you want to go back!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottage Grove, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A great bang for your buck”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We checked out Gus's Diner for the first time last week. It was such a pleasant surprise. The food was delicious and the prices were fabulous! Their daily specials are unbeatable!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gus's Diner also viewed

 

Been to Gus's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gus's Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.