We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better place to drink than eat.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cannery Grill - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cannery Grill
315 E Linnerud Dr, Sun Prairie, WI 53590-2978
608-837-4999
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $15
Restaurant details
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Better place to drink than eat.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

This place has a great look, historic past, etc., but the food and service were average at best. At least there's a good bar menu and lots of beer choices.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    8
    2
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good bar atmosphere but poor food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I visit the Cannery a few times a year even though I live in town. This place has a great feel to it and the bar area is great. They have great drink specials and the bartender usually working has always been friendly. My wife and I stop in from time to time to grab a drink and appetizer or sometimes dinner. When we first visited here a few years ago the food was great, however the food seems to have declined steadily over the past couple of years. The menu has some decent selections and all sound good when you read them. However once the food is delivered it has always been a let down. We always agree that the food was not that great at all, and we will not order a meal but we seem to keep trying to give them a chance to fix their food. Hopefully they can do so, we do enjoy the atmosphere and drinks so we will continue to support our local businesses but just not the restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“had there buffalo chicken wrap...super spicy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

The restaurant was very nicely decorated with great ambiance. My husband had the prime rib which was good and my daughter had the mushroom swiss burger, also very good. Beware of the buffalo chicken wrap ...it is REALLY spicy and I couldn't eat it. We opted for the pub chips instead of the fries and they were excellent and warm. The prices were about $10 per person and they had daily specials. One note parking is around the back of the building not in front also, I understand the fish fry on Friday is very busy so plan ahead.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
letrips66
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Large menu but fish fry seems best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We've been a few times and the atmosphere is nice, the food is decent, but the service isn't consistent. The fish fry options are typically tasty; there are some selections we've had that are pretty good; and a few options have been a bit of a disappointment. Last night we took a couple of friends to dinner here because of the wide selections of choices and our dinner companions' dietary restrictions. The entree selections were diverse, but the sides were a problem... all the sides were starchy -- potatoes, rice, or beans (vegetable of the day). A couple of us ordered sirloin steak. The medium steak was cooked perfectly; the medium well was actually well done but that is a difficult distinction. The flavor of the steak was good but the steaks were a little touch -- even with the steak knife. The other entree was a fried tilapia po' boy. It was pretty good but could have used a spicy condiment. One of our party also had a cherry-lime martini and said it was pretty tasty. Entrees were about $15, beer was $4-5 and the martini was $8.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place for dinner, fish fry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Great fish tacos and salads, also a very good fish fry! Good drinks. LOVE the outdoor seating in summer!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cannery Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cannery Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.