We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Captain's Cove has delicious broiled cod!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Captain's Cove Seafood Bar & Grill

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Captain's Cove Seafood Bar & Grill
904 S Sylvania Avenue, Sturtevant, WI 53177
2620898-1700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 31 restaurants in Sturtevant
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Captain's Cove has delicious broiled cod!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We went to Captain's Cove for a Valentine's Day lunch and had the broiled cod with salad bar and baked potato and everything was just delicious! Our waiter was very nice and accommodating. Highly recommend this restaurant and will be going back real soon! Also has a nurse shark and another big fish in a huge aquarium which is a nice touch.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

68% Recommend
    11
    6
    1
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“The GREATEST FISH”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Great fish fry fridays. You can order broiled,lightly beer battered or panco breaded fish. All three are SUPER!!! The fish fry comes with salad bar(thanks for putting a light over the salad bar) and your choice of potato ,marble ry bread & butter. The SALAD BAR is good but PLEASE NOT EVERYTHING MADE WITH MAYO OR SALAD DRESSING..... They make this corkscrew pasta with vinegar & oil BUT THEY DO NOT OFFER THIS EVERY WEEK ON THE SALAD BAR (and they should for customer like me who HATE mayo/salad dressings). Great soups here also. Kenosha customer(worth the drive)......

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Total disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I should have walked out, when the hostess/waitress received payment from a customer at the front desk, then disappeared into the kitchen without seating me. I waited the 3-4 minutes for the other waiter to finally acknowledge my presents. Meanwhile the bartender was telling her stories of bad luck to everyone. I was seated at a booth and ordered my drink. The waiter disappeared for a while, as I contemplated leaving, then returned with my drink. I opted for the panko coated grouper. The meal came in a relative short time. The potato pancakes were the best part of the meal. The fish was not the best, and had a fishy taste. Cole slaw was average.
Not a great meal and poor service. The corn dog at the gas station had more appeal to me.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem of a restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This restaurant is a little hidden on the WEST side of Hwy20 & I-94; it sits next to the Travelodge Hotel. This restaurant has a fish fry Wednesday AND Friday (AYCE $9.95.) This special comes with salad bar with in-house chef made salads. The salad bar could use some more lighting in the area. The fish fry comes with 3 choices of prepared cod: beer-battered, panko or broiled. I have tried the panko and broiled which ARE OUTSTANDING. In-house chef-made soups can be substituted for the salad bar. For those who do not want seafood, their menu offers items like Ribs, Chicken Marsala & Gyros (NO FROZEN SLABS HERE THE REAL CONE SPIT-ROASTED). Look up their web site for other daily specials. Wednesday also AYCE Crab legs $29.95. VERY MUCH A MUST PLACE TO GO. Friendly, efficient wait staff. If your interested in the bar they offer MANY types of bottled beers.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I really had a great time here last night. The employee's are very nice and were always attentive to my every need. It's nice to find places that you can actually have fun at with the local patrons and enjoy a great dinner to boot. They also have a fairly large selection of beer and wine that is reasonably priced. There are a lot of different features in this restaurant which make it an even more attractive place to visit. For instance, during happy hour they allow you to draw your own pull tab from a jar to create your own discount. Very unique. They also have 2 extra large aquariums that hold a variety of sea life which Include Eels, Sharks, and a large Grouper among other things. I was there while they were feeding them and I thought it was pretty entertaining. I ordered the Cod dinner ($9.95 Wednesday special) a little later on and was very pleased with the timeliness and preparation of my order. It was very tasty and also included a trip to the salad bar. I can't say enough about this place. I had a great time overall and enjoyed a wonderful meal. I will definitely visit this restaurant again the next time I am in the area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain's Cove Seafood Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Captain's Cove Seafood Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain's Cove Seafood Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.