We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great BandB but not the best location to explore Door County.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of White Lace Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sturgeon Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
White Lace Inn
Save
You added White Lace Inn to your Saves list
16 N. Fifth Ave., Door County, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 23 Sturgeon Bay B&B and Inns
CT
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great BandB but not the best location to explore Door County.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011 via mobile

Sturgeon Bay is a one-night stay at best if your goal is to explore beautiful Door County. If you stay at Sturgeon Bay this is the place to be. Efficiently run, clean, Victorian in architecture and relaxing, comfortable room make this a fine choice for the traveler. Breakfast tends to be "heavy" though tasty enough. Great coffee and pastries.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    22
    13
    6
    4
See reviews for
2
71
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wausau, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

We recently spent three nights at The White Lace Inn on Memorial Day weekend.
We arrived and were escorted by the owner to our 2- room suite which included a hot tub, 2 fireplaces and furnished with Victorian style furniture some that were actual antiques. We did not use the hot tub but did use the bigger fireplace most evenings. We found our rooms clean and tastefully decorated. All of the staff were friendly and always happy to answer any of our questions. We enjoyed the Sturgeon Bay area and one day did the circle tour to Fish Creek, Sister Bay and back. Nice restaurants and wineries. Our favorite winery was The Red Oak downtown S.B. We would go back to the White Lace again but stay in a smaller room and save some more cash. This was our first experience staying at a B& B and we were very happy!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

This was our second stay at the White Lace Inn in Sturgeon Bay. As before, this is a lovely inn with a host who genuinely cares that you enjoy your stay and is very visible yet not intrusive. The staff is friendly and attentive while having breakfast and takes pride in their service. The room was very clean and while small provides all that one would need to relax and get some quiet time. It is a perfect place to stay while visiting the peninsula of Door County with many charming shops and interesting museums right in Sturgeon Bay should you decide to go no further. I recommend The Inn at Cedar Crossing for dining later on in the day after you enjoy breakfast at the White Lace Inn.

Room Tip: Stay in the main house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We have been staying at the White Lace Inn for the past 17 years. I believe the owners have become complacent in believing people will always return. The place needs major updating for the prices they charge.
For $200+ a night you should expect:
Robes and slippers in the room
An HD TV that is bigger than my home computer screen
A comfortable bed and pillows (it was like sleeping on a rock)
A bath mat (had to use one of the regular bath towels, come on!)
Kleenex (was not replaced when empty)
Wireless internet that actually works in the room
A decent size breakfast (their breakfast has gotten smaller and smaller over the years)

For $100 more I will stay at White Gull Inn.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, IA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

Things we loved about the trip.

- The house is beautiful and the rates were reasonable. We were thinking about staying at the Inn at Cedar Crossing, but we decided on this house, after looking at Cedar Crossing when we got there we are really glad we stayed at White Lace, it has much more of a B&B feel.
- Fireplaces in every room (I think), stocked with wood every day and firestarters. We were able to read every night with a big fire burning in our fireplace, which we loved.
- The gardens are beautiful. Unfortunately for us it was a cold weekend so we didn't get to enjoy them as much as we could have.
- The cookies they make are incredible. You will eat a dozen during your time there, I guarantee it.
- The location is great. Sturgeon Bay is a great launching place for exploring Door County.

The owner was very helpful and kind, eager to help us figure out restaurants and places to visit. In the morning the women who served us breakfast were a joy to interact with. Our first breakfast was incredible, but I'd say that the second were just OK. Still better than you'd find at most breakfast places, but you won't necessarily know what you are getting until you get there and see the menu.

Our only complaint is how they handled drinks and snacks. Most B&B's we stay at usually have a little kitchen area or a fridge that is stocked with drinks and snacks and is available all the time. At the White Lace you are required to knock on the Inn Keeper's door and ask for a lemonade, ice tea, or more popcorn. They are all too eager to provide, but sometimes it felt like a little too much unnecessary contact, having to request a refill rather than just get it myself. This was actually a point of irritation for me a number of times (having to knock on their door at 11:00pm to ask for a glass of hot chocolate for my wife before we went to bed.)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, WI
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2011

My wife and I keep coming back to the White Lace Inn as our anniversary getaway. It is the ultimate in Victorian-era quaintness. If you're a hustle-and-bustle person or prefer ultramodern amenities, I suggest you stay somewhere else. But if you long for a more relaxed, leisurely lifestyle it is THE place to stay. From the canopy bed that sucks you in to the health-conscious breakfasts and midnight cookie jar raids, everything about this place is designed to soothe and calm. One note of warning - this is not the kind of place for kids unless yours are very quiet and very well-behaved. But if you crave to sit in the bay window with a great cup of tea and a good book (those paper things with words on them), the White Lace Inn is your kind of place.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2011

I would not recommend this Inn. The suite we had was not comfortable, the 'artwork', lighting fixtures, bathroom fixtures, mattress, sofa, etc. need serious updating. We had booked for 3 nights and had such a restless night's sleep that we were up at 3am looking for other accommodations. It is marketed as a luxury inn and it is not; for $200+ I would expect a lot more than what they had. Plastic flowers and a 'popping' gas fireplace. I have to say that they did not charge for the other two night but on the other hand they never responded to my email. I think you can get a much better deal like we did for 1/2 the price when it's off season as we did for the next two nights!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to White Lace Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Lace Inn

Address: 16 N. Fifth Ave., Door County, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sturgeon Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Sturgeon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exquisite Door County bed and breakfast in Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin. Featuring 18 inviting guest rooms and suites in four elegant turn of the century neighboring homes sharing flower gardens, a gazebo and fish pond. We invite you to experience our world of gracious elegance, sincere hospitality, and attention to detail and quality in cozy rooms and extravagant suites. Explore Sturgeon Bay, Door County from your luxurious B&B hideaway. Wander garden pathways surrounding and connecting each of the four turn-of-the-century homes that make up the White Lace Inn... When evening comes, climb into a canopied plantation bed, or an ornate Victorian Bed, luxuriously dressed in soft linens, a down comforter, lots of big pillows... watch the fireplace weave its relaxing magic... White Lace Inn / Door County, Wisconsin ... more   less 
Also Known As:
White Lace Hotel Sturgeon Bay
White Lace Inn Sturgeon Bay, WI - Door County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Lace Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.