We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant, Cozy, and Romantic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Foxglove Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sturgeon Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Foxglove Inn
Save
You added The Foxglove Inn to your Saves list
344 N. Third Ave., Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235 (Formerly Colonial Gardens Bed and Breakfast)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Foxglove Inn for $125!
Ranked #2 of 23 Sturgeon Bay B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Elegant, Cozy, and Romantic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I visited The Foxglove Inn last month for our anniversary. The owners were delightful; very kind and responsive to any needs we had. The room was so comfortable we didn't want to leave! This is almost feasible because unlike most B&Bs, the Foxglove delivers breakfast to your door as a standard (a big plus in our book). We had the perfect amount of space to feel at home and the room offered great amenities: soaking tub, TV, fireplace. The photos on their website did the room full justice: the decor and design are flawless. When we did decide to venture out, we were extremely close to the bay and to lots of downtown shopping.
Overall, we were beyond pleased with our stay and highly recommend the Foxglove!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
26
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Carrie and Kelly have done a wonderful job in remodeling the Inn. The room was comfortable and cozy - every detail has been taken care of. The breakfast was delicious - delivered to your room. A perfect place to stay!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartland, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

My husband and I were looking for a nice place in Door County to have a small, private wedding. We found The Foxglove Inn and fell in love instantly. Carrie and Kelly were so helpful in arranging the ceremony at their inn. They gave us direction for an officiant, flowers, etc. and arranged the furniture in our room for the ceremony. They even moved it all back and had some bubbly waiting for us when we returned from our dinner. It was such an amazing experience and we are honored to be the first ones married at the inn.

We stayed in the Foxglove Suite and it was incredible. The fireplace kept us warm and cozy and the whirlpool tub was so relaxing. Breakfast was delicious and delivered right to our door. The room also had chandeliers, beautiful carpentry, and a piano. I can't say enough about the wonderful hospitality we experienced at the inn. Everything was taken care of for us and Carrie and Kelly went so far above and beyond our expectations. We were so impressed with our wedding weekend that now we'll be spending every anniversary in the Foxglove Suite at the Foxglove Inn. Thank you so much, ladies!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

We loved this B&B! My husband and I really enjoy B&B's and this one is fantastic! The house is immaculate and very nicely decorated. It is cozy and contemporary, and beautifully restored. Breakfast, delivered to our room, was delicious. The hostesses are very friendly and enjoyed telling us about the history of their house and the area. We've come to Door County many times, but this was our first stay in Sturgeon Bay. We were very happy to be in the 'city' since much was closed farther north because it was so late in the season. This B&B does not have a common area, so those that enjoy meeting other guests might miss this. But - it was a wonderful stay and we highly recommend the Foxglove Inn!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

Recently stayed a long weekend with my wife. The room was nice a cozy with a bit more modern flair, which is what we were looking for. The place is large, but not huge. The bed and shower were new and comfortable.

The biggest perk was the keepers. The sisters who run the place were very nice, helpful and professional. Coffee, tea and sweets awaited us as we entered the house. Breakfast delivered to the room was delicious.

We would definitely return again. You can't go wrong staying here

Room Tip: We stayed in the cedar room. It was the smallest room in the back of the place. My recommendation w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

We have stayed at dozens of B&Bs all over the Midwest, and the Foxglove measures up to or exceeds any of them. From the start we found ample off-street parking, received a quick greeting from Kelly as we entered, were given a tour of the room, asked if the breakfast time was OK, asked if we had any food allergies, were offered freshly baked cookies and delicious coffee, and Kelly gave us a bottle of wine because we were celebrating our wedding anniversary. We got our room key, and from there, were left alone with a promise that help was always available if we needed it, even after hours. We found the room (Water Lily Suite) to be spacious and immaculately clean. The decor was vintage yet modern amenities were provided...gas fireplace, 2 TVs, even a heated bathroom floor! There was no closet or wardrobe to hang clothes, but Kelly showed us the numerous hooks available around the room. You can see the attention to detail.

Breakfast was on-time outside our door in the morning and was very tasty and filling. The only negative was that we could only stay for one night.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

The Foxglove Inn should not be overlooked on your next Door County visit. While much of the heavy tourism in the area is 20 minutes north of Sturgeon Bay, there are many reasons why this location may even be ideal.

This B&B is located on the fringe of the downtown area of Sturgeon Bay and is one block away from casual dining and shopping. While I have stayed in other areas of Door County, we chose Foxglove Inn due to the elegant rooms and high praise for the food served each morning. The owners are very accessible and attentive when you need them. The rooms and house are as clean and tidy as any top end hotel and we can tell there is pride of ownership at this Inn.

This family run B&B will not disappoint on treating you as a special guest. You will be surprised at how much privacy and tranquility is delivered with this selection. While there are no common areas for lounging or milling around with other guests, many of the suites are very large and provide you space to sprawl. We had a private entrance with a small sitting area for outdoor relaxing. The rooms are very tastefully decorated with antique flair and yet highly functional with all modern conveniences.

The location provides quick convenient access to Potawatomi State Park where hiking, nature and breath taking scenery is abundant. Local supper clubs are the way to go for meals or plan ahead and make reservations at other Door County locations and incorporate into your touring.

You may find cheaper accommodations but if you like to be pampered a bit, this will not disappoint. It is doubtful there is a nicer and better run B&B in Sturgeon Bay.

Room Tip: The Ladyslipper and Hawthorne suites are huge, the Forget Me Not is smaller but very cozy and relaxi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Foxglove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Foxglove Inn

Address: 344 N. Third Ave., Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235 (Formerly Colonial Gardens Bed and Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sturgeon Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Sturgeon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New owners have just completed renovations on this historic gem and have reopened in April 2014 as The Foxglove Inn. All new amenities and upgrades give the inn a fresh vintage feel while highlighting the details of this grand home. Warm. Inviting. Comfortable luxury. Come and see why The Foxglove Inn is the place to stay while visiting beautiful Door County, Wisconsin. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Foxglove Inn Sturgeon Bay, WI - Door County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Foxglove Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.