We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little breakfast!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Town Hall Bakery

Town Hall Bakery
6225 State Highway 57, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235-9554
920-823-2116
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 78 Restaurants in Sturgeon Bay
Restaurant details
Rockville, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great little breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

When staying in Jacksonport we ALWAYS stop in for a treat. Everyone is so friendly and welcoming. They have delicious full breakfast options with pancakes or omelettes and fresh fruit and lots of great things to look at or they have scones and muffins and great coffee...a wonderful quiet place to read the paper and enjoy the goodies on a beautiful sunny morning.

Visited August 2012

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    7
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manitowoc, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Food was great, but service was another story”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

First of all, everyone needs to know that Jacksonport is the actual location of this bakery/cafe/restaurant. Other reviews have been written listing Sturgeon Bay as the location. Secondly, I think Town Hall is doing themselves a disservice by stating they are a "bakery & cafe." They are a restaurant with very creative and tasty breakfast and lunch entree's and just happen to also have a small selection of bakery items (and other touristy knick-nacks to sell).

Now to the review. My wife and I happened into this place for a late (10:00) breakfast on a Sunday morning. The place was about three-fourths full so I wouldn't exactly call them busy. We sat down and waited over 10 minutes to be acknowledged. We asked for coffee and were told it was "self-serve" and to help ourselves at the counter. Water was also self-serve. We were fine with that. The menu included a nice selection of a wide variety of breakfast items with clever names to them. The waitress did not tell us there were any "specials of the day" and we found out by overhearing another waitress much later that there were. Our loss, they sounded great but we had already ordered. Oh, and by the way, you have to say you want toast. It comes with your meal but unless you say you want it, you don't get it. Something about too much wasted toast.

Unfortunately, nearly 40 minutes later, with the cafe now only one-fourth full, our breakfast had still not arrived, yet the manager (owner?) and one of the waitresses proceded to sit down with another couple to have breakfast with them! What?! When our meals did arrive (at 11:00), they were excellent; fresh, hot and nicely portioned, but the entire service experience turned us off.

Will I recommend Town Hall Bakery & Cafe? Sure, hoping that our experience was an isolated one and not a recurring issue.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fish Creek, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Breakfast in an eclectic atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

This is my "Special Breakfast" place in Door County. As mentioned by another reviewer, it is not in or near Sturgeon Bay. It is in Jacksonport. It is a bakery, however, you will not find shelves of bakery for sale. While the bakery items are limited. Their scones and pecan sticky buns are favorites.
The breakfast plates are most creative, with imaginative names, as Colonel Mustard in the White House, The Frida Kahlo, and The Happy Flappy, to name a few. The ingredients, mostly organic and local, are impressive. The presentation is over the top, because of artfully placed and sliced fruit, 4-6 types, and edible flowers accompany your breakfast entree. This is why it becomes a "Special Breakfast." It still is special after having been here over 20 times in the last 10 years.
The atmosphere is really unique, walls of paintings, and antiques, set in a Town Hall building possibly 100 years old or more.
I recommend having breakfast here, as long as you are not in a rush. And, don't mind serving your own coffee.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We just happened to drive by this place on our way to Cave Point just to grab a little something to eat. We got an omelette with an absolutely excellent feta mix and such fresh vegetables. It came with a fruit side and the presentation was amazing. We went back the next day and had lunch. It wasn't as amazing as breakfast the previous day but it was still a great meal. We will definately be back next time we're up and will be recommending this place to anybody we know going to the area.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa City, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“What a surprise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Wanted a light lunch before going to see Cave Point county park. This was the perfect place. We were able to split a sandwich and my husband added the soup. It was delicious. Don't forget to leave a message on the Daily Doily, Ed Asner did.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Town Hall Bakery also viewed

Sturgeon Bay, Door County
Sturgeon Bay, Door County
 

Been to Town Hall Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Town Hall Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.