We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Prime Rib Sandwich” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grey Stone Castle

Grey Stone Castle
8 N Madison Ave, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235-3414
920-743-9923
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 78 Restaurants in Sturgeon Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Restaurant details
Madison, WI
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Prime Rib Sandwich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Excellent sandwich. We had a very nice meal at this restaurant and was very pleased with the service.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    28
    7
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Top Contributor
1,400 reviews 1,400 reviews
946 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 291 cities Reviews in 291 cities
780 helpful votes 780 helpful votes
“Very good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My wife and I walked across the bridge and had dinner here based on a recommendation of the bartender at Nautical Inn Pub & Grill. We both had a Prime Rib Sandwich, which was a good size portion of prime rib between two slices of Texas toast. It was very good. We also ordered a side of onion rings and a side of cheese curds. Both sides were very good. This restaurant was a quite noisy so we went back to Nautical Inn Pub & Grill for drinks.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Super Prime Rib Sandwich!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Nothing fancy.....You don't have to dress up. Just relax and enjoy! Unique decorations. Many animals mounted on the walls done by a taxidermist...quite tastefully done. Even a deer's rear-end. We arrived at lunch rush so there was a bit of a wait...but well worth it. A friend recommended the Prime rib sandwich and onion rings. We ordered both. Out of this world. Like another reviewer said that the sandwich was huge (2 meals). The onion rings were the best I have ever had. We will make this a regular stop when traveling in Door County!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best local bar in Door County!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This is the perfect place to have great food, fun conversation and cheap beers! (not that the beer is 'cheap' just not over priced and touristy) We have visited Grey Stone on numerous occassions and are never dissapointed. The deep fried mushrooms are my guilty pleasure - they are huge and juicy, and the breading is hand made. They also have awesome burgers and a prime rib sandwich that is out of this world.
Very Highly Recommended!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great local bar and good sandwiches!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Stopped by with a coworker. Good beer selection, service was good, the sandwiches were quite good. Coworker had a hamburger that was cooked perfectly. I had the prime rib sandwich which was huge, had to be close to queen size. It was cooked perfectly and the seasoning was perfect. I'll be back many times over.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grey Stone Castle also viewed

Sturgeon Bay, Door County
Sturgeon Bay, Door County
 
Sturgeon Bay, Door County
Sturgeon Bay, Door County
 

Been to Grey Stone Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grey Stone Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.