We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place needs to be on Triple D!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hot Tamales

Hot Tamales
26 E Oak St, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235-2722
920-746-0600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 77 Restaurants in Sturgeon Bay
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“This place needs to be on Triple D!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Our family had lunch here on a July Sunday. My husband, 2 teenage sons, and I loved everything! I'm pretty sure it was all homemade, right down to specially mixed salsa based on our spice preference when we walked in the door.

The service was excellent - the restaurant owner waited on us and answered our barrage of questions like how long she'd owned it (8 years), where they'd learned to cook like that (the previous owner), and kind of fish in the tacos (freshly caught perch from the bay).

The atmosphere was cheesy at best - but that's what you look for in a dive. Not sure the Mexican decor has been refreshed or changed...ever.

If you're looking for something out of the ordinary, fresh, fun, and filling, seek out Hot Tamales!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    13
    4
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, WI
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cool restaurant; yummy and filling food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

We decided to try Hot Tamales for dinner on a Wednesday night. We were the only diners there, since it wasn't peak season, which was pretty romantic--the whole place all to ourselves! I kinda felt like we were in Mexico with the sombreros on the wall and other cool little decorative touches. The waitress had a good sense of humor and really knew the menu. My boyfriend loves spicy food, so she gave him a huge tube of homeade habanero sauce to put on his enchilada. He was in heaven! Me, not having the taste buds for that, stuck to the mildly spicy and deliciously fresh salsa, which I mixed in to the sour cream and guacamole on top of my chicken tacos.....mmmm....we had a very enjoyable dinner :) I'd definitely come back!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Holstein, Wisconsin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good restruant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Took fish tacos to go. Were very good. Offered chips and salsa even though we weren't staying. Later kind of wished we'd have eatin in.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, Illinois
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“Seriously good Mexican food off the beaten path”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

This place serves very good Mexican food but is hard to find as it's off the beaten path. We stumbled upon it and are glad we did. This isn't your commercial chain Mexican food, but real Mexican fare. Definately worth a trip to feed your spicy cravings.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“An Unusual Place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

When we walked in at 11 AM on a Wednesday we were the only customers. Another couple came in about ten minutes later. We were greeted upon arrival. We knew we were ordering breakfast and the coffee arrived quick. My partner ordered the homemade corned beef hash and I had the breakfast taco. The corned beef hash had green and red peppers in it, neither of us like peppers. The taco was served with refried beans and rice. Service was attentive, food served quickly. Portions are large. We would return but probably not order the hash and will know to ask a few more questions before ordering.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hot Tamales also viewed

Sturgeon Bay, Door County
Sturgeon Bay, Door County
 
Sturgeon Bay, Door County
Sturgeon Bay, Door County
 

Been to Hot Tamales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hot Tamales, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.