We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Donny's Glidden Lodge

Donny's Glidden Lodge
4670 Glidden Dr, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235-9196
(920) 746-9460
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 77 Restaurants in Sturgeon Bay
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Sun Prairie, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

this was a great place to eat! We stayed next door and had our anniversary meal here! Good food. Great staff

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    50
    19
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“It is special alright!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

The Glidden's special is not to be missed! We celebrated my husband's birthday and both had the Glidden special--steak, gorgonzola and heaven:) The boys had mac and cheese which wasn't anything to write about, but the steak was great.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Food was great, service was great, view is nice of Lake Michigan. In a cool stone building that has an interesting history. Did not stay at this resort, just ate dinner there. Breads were awesome. Walk to the end of the pier after dinner and digest a little! Only drawback is the tables are set a little too close together so a little intrusive, I like more space. Just order a couple of drinks and you wont care!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Would love to go back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We were visiting some friend's in the Egg Harbor area and we asked them where they would like to dine that evening. They said their favorite place was Donny's Glidden Lodge. We decided to eat on the early side, so we could visit a bit longer and enjoy the view of Lake Michigan. We had a great window seat in the corner. Our server was fun and attentive...and had an infectious laugh! I had my heart set on the Walleye, however, there were lots of wonderful sounding specials. One being the sirloin tips over noodles. Our friends told us they were really good, so three of us got the tips and my husband got the walleye. I must say, the tips were delicious and my husband said the walleye was great. None of us could finish our entrees, as there is a wonderful salad bar included with dinner. There were beets, different noodle salads and two excellent soups along with great bread!
I can see why our friend's enjoy coming here. If you are in the Sturgeon Bay area, I would highly recommend dining here!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturgeon bay
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Great service! Very friendly and knowledgeable on menu. Everything came at a timely matter. Food was excellent! Everything we had was cooked to perfection.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Donny's Glidden Lodge also viewed

Sturgeon Bay, Door County
Sturgeon Bay, Door County
 
Sturgeon Bay, Door County
Sturgeon Bay, Door County
 

Been to Donny's Glidden Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Donny's Glidden Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.