We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accomodating hostess” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sturgeon Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
434 N. 3rd Ave., Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 23 Sturgeon Bay B&B and Inns
Anamosa, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Accomodating hostess”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

The best part of Garden Gate is the friendly, energetic hostess. Robin bends over backwards to make guests feel at home. In addition, she is an excellent cook and serves first-rate breakfasts. While the house itself is not exceptional, Robin has made the most of it and the rooms are comfortable. The only drawback is that the Garden Gate is directly across the street from an unsightly factory. However, once you are inside the front door, Robin's warm hospitality overcomes the initial disappointment with the location.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    27
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
21
182
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wausau, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Robin made us all feel very comfortable in her home. She was around when we needed her but did not smuther us. Her bedtime chocolate cake and the breakfast she served were superb! We are planning to return next summer.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

I loved the hot coffee waiting for me outside the room in the early morning. I loved the homemade chocolate cake waiting for me at the end of the night. The breakfast was gourmet and delicious!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011 via mobile

I stayed with my family it was a party of 9 of us. Robin did a wonderful job.. She had a delicious breakfast for us always hot and very fresh.. We had great deserts every night.. The rooms were all decorated so nicely. We all enjoyed our family get away. Make sure to stop at kitty O'reillys Irish pub while you are there they have great food and the owners are great..

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

Robin was a great hostess and we could not have picked a better place to stay. Our family rented the whole house, and everyone could not have praised it enough. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was outstanding , and the cakes waiting for us at night could not have tasted better. It's hard to keep nine people happy but Robin out did herself and everyone couldn't wait for the next day to see what she would make.

Room Tip: They were all nice. If you want a wirlpool bath room pick the Lavender room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

My wife & I decided to spend our 3rd wedding anniversary touring Door County. We used Sturgeon Bay as our home base and Garden Gate B & B as our lodging. This is a great place to stay at and Robin the owner is as good a hostess as you will find. She has a wealth of knowledge about the area and that saved us both time & money. You also can't go wrong with her special breakfast each morning. A must place to stay if you're ever in the area......

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

This was our first stay at a B&B and we thoroughly enjoyed it. Robin made us feel right at home. She is truly a gracious hostess. The house is warm and inviting and the breakfasts were awesome!!!! We stayed three nights in the Garden Suite and would highly recommand it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast

Address: 434 N. 3rd Ave., Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sturgeon Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Sturgeon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden Gate is a premier Victorian bed and breakfast. It welcomes you with its friendly hospitality and elegant breakfast served every morning in the dining room, accompanied by music and candlelight. End your day with an evening dessert...a good night's sleep and dream about your breakfast..Because.."Breakfast is our Signature" ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Garden Gate Bed And Breakfast Sturgeon Bay, WI - Door County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.