We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you, thank you!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Black Walnut Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sturgeon Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Black Walnut Guest House
Save
You added The Black Walnut Guest House to your Saves list
454 North 7th Avenue, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
mid week winter rates!
Ranked #3 of 23 Sturgeon Bay B&B and Inns
Bondurant, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Thank you, thank you!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

My husband and I just returned from our first trip to Door County. What a wonderful place to visit- wish it were closer. We loved staying at the Black Walnut. We have stayed at different B & B's and this one was a top pick. The room was comfortable and cozy. We loved the whirlpool tub and the deck to have breakfast on. Geri was a wonderful hostess- there when we needed her but gave us the privacy we wanted. The room was cozy and comfortable and it was a very peaceful retreat after busy days exploring. The breakfast was yummy and having it at our door was great. Thank you so much for a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
82
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Willowbrook, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

This place is fantastic. I have always felt a little weird about the idea of bed & breakfasts - staying in someone else's house, and socializing with other guests just doesn't usually sound appealing to me. I never felt like that here though. This place felt so private and comfortable. I love that you get breakfast delivered to your door in the morning, so you can lounge around and eat breakfast together before you go out for the day. Also cookies, cocoa and tea were available in the hall all day. The food was great (the cookies were amazing!). The rooms were well decorated and comfortable. In our room we had a jacuzzi tub with a fish tank behind it, which was really neat. Our room also had a private balcony, which was a wonderful place to eat breakfast. Our stay here was great, I just wish it had been a little colder so I would have had an excuse to light up the fireplace!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Branch, MN
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

We have been to several Bed and Breakfast's and this one tops them all! The best part (as many others have posted) is the breakfast tray delivered to our room at the time we wanted it. Not having to get ready before meeting other guests and just being able to get up and have a cup of coffee and yummy parfait was so nice. The muffins are delicious and Geri gives out the recipes on the web site. The granola is to die for- I bought some for use at home.
Geri made a real point to give us our space but was willing to visit when we had questions about the area. She gave us great Wineries and restaurants to check out. A delight to visit with.
Love the Cabin room with the fireplace and double jacuzzi. The bed was comfortable and the room was quiet. Grabbed a couple movies to watch from a great selection she has available. We were given a discount during the month of March so it ended up being less than a hotel room which doesn't even compare to this place. Was such a relaxing weekend for us and just what we needed.
Thank you Black Walnut for allowing us to escape to Door County. Did I say it was just what we needed???

Room Tip: There are skylights so it is bright in the morning. I do believe they are working on getting somethi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spikemeno, Owner at The Black Walnut Guest House, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
Well Hello and thank you. That is a fabulous review! Great detail. You are most welcome; am thrilled that you enjoyed yourselves and look forward to seeing you again. Your granola is on its way!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Black Walnut guest house from February 22-25 in the Cottage room. We absolutely loved it! The room was so cute, the jacuzzi tub was wonderful too! The little touches made it that much better: the cookies in the hall were great and so was the tea/ hot cocoa that was available in the hall. When we arrived there was a plate of chocolates which were wonderful. The breakfast which was delivered to our room every morning was delicious. The yogurt parfait and granola was superb! The muffins were also wonderful! We also used the Dvd library downstairs to watch a couple of movies. We had a great time at the Black Walnut guest house and would reccommend it to anyone looking for a quiet getaway. We can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

This was our first time at the Black Walnut Guest House. We stayed 4 nights in the Arts & Crafts room. The room was very large and beautifully decorated. We felt comfortable and at home from the moment we entered the room. The queen bed was very comfortable as well as the separate sitting area. The fireplace was double-sided and kept the room very cozy. We appreciated having a microwave and refrigerator in the room as well as a tv and vcr. This is the first B&B we've stayed at where a breakfast tray is delivered to the door at the time you choose. What a wonderful touch! Each morning we enjoyed the delicious breakfast in the comfort of our own room, next to the fireplace. And speaking of breakfast, we really enjoyed the warm home baked muffins as well as the fruit juice, granola parfaits and cups of fresh fruit. Everything was perfect. Our stay was peaceful and restful, everything we hope for in a B&B. We look forward to a return trip to the Black Walnut, our new favorite place in Door County.

Room Tip: Arts & Craft room is larger than all the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

The Black Walnut Guest House is a fabulous experience. Both times I've stayed there was wonderful and relaxing. There are always goodies available on the drink cart in the hallway for the all guest to enjoy and the breakfasts are filling and yummy. Geri is very accommodating to her guests and will whatever you need to make your stay memorable, relaxing, and fun. I don't get how anyone could give a poor review of this place. You feel like you are in your own home. Geri is always there, unless she needs to step out, which is understandable. She is easily reached if needed. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the decor is pretty. I've stayed in the Arts and Crafts and Cottage rooms. The Arts and Crafts was my favorite, but the Cottage room was wonderful as well. I love this place, as does my spouse, and we plan on returning again and would never stay anywhere else in Door County.

Room Tip: I have stayed in the Arts and Crafts room and the Cottage room. The Arts and Crafts room is bigger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

It's hard for me to understand how anyone could not LOVE this place. The hosts were wonderful - gave great service and took care of us, but were not intrusive. We are definitely not B&B people, but this was a place that didn't force you to mingle with strangers, which suited us perfectly. We stayed in the cottage room which had a lovely balcony, comfortable bed, and fabulous whirlpool bathtub. The only thing we didn't like is that the room gets bright early, making it hard to sleep in. We enjoyed hanging out and playing games and eating yummy snacks, as the weather was cold! Having breakfast delivered to our room every day was one of our favorite parts. Great to have coffee and breakfast in bed without preparing it ourselves!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Black Walnut Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Walnut Guest House

Address: 454 North 7th Avenue, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sturgeon Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Sturgeon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover one of Door County's hidden treasures. The Black Walnut Guest House in Sturgeon Bay is a welcoming four room Bed and Breakfast. Each room uniquely designed and tastefully decorated features a double whirlpool tub, fireplace, small refrigerator, TV and VCR, ceiling fan, AC and private bath. Some rooms have decks. A fresh and delicious breakfast is served to your door each morning. Open year round and a non-smoking Inn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Black Walnut Guest House Sturgeon Bay, WI - Door County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Black Walnut Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.